RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

How to reverse a servo???

Reply

Old 01-06-2005, 07:01 AM
  #1  
tatolazo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: concepcion, CHILE
Posts: 431
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default How to reverse a servo???

I have seen a lot of articles that say that changing the wires at the potentiometer and at the motor you can reverse a servo, but that´s very easy with the older ones, how could it be done with the newer ones that have the potentiometer inserted int he circuit or something like that???
Any step by step photo procedure???

Will be appreciated.

(Of course I could get a servo reverser from FMA or tower hobbies, but that is no so fun)

Tato
tatolazo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 09:10 AM
  #2  
ALbert.S
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 263
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to reverse a servo???

On some servos it is possible to unsolder the motor from the pc board and rotate it and resolder back in place then reverse the pot wires and you good to go
ALbert.S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 10:41 AM
  #3  
mulligan
Senior Member
 
mulligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sanford, FL
Posts: 1,147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to reverse a servo???

ORIGINAL: tatolazo

I have seen a lot of articles that say that changing the wires at the potentiometer and at the motor you can reverse a servo, but that´s very easy with the older ones, how could it be done with the newer ones that have the potentiometer inserted int he circuit or something like that???
Any step by step photo procedure???

Will be appreciated.

(Of course I could get a servo reverser from FMA or tower hobbies, but that is no so fun)

Tato
Not sure what you mean my the pot inserted in the circuit. If that means that the pot is physically surface mounted onto the circuit board with its leads soldered directly to the board (i.e., no wires), then you are probably out of luck. You need to have a pot with outside leads you can reverse- that means it should have a wired connection to the board, so you can easily switch the connections. Of course, you also have to reverse the motor leads.

I've reversed quite a few servos for friends, and I haven't seen a surface-mounted pot in one before. If this is indeed the case, can you name an example servo model, so I can go pick one up and take a look myself?

Thanks and good luck.
mulligan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 12:42 PM
  #4  
pettit
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to reverse a servo???

Many of the servos I reverse have the motor surface-mounted to the PC board. The Pot is still connected with 3 discrete wires.

The pot reversal is no problem, just swap the outer 2 wires.

But to get to the pot, you have to unsolder the motor lugs from the board and pull the board from the motor.

Then I have found the motor to be glued to the case, so rotating it isn't easy to do, if at all.

You have to cut PC wiring traces and patch them back so that the motor leads are reversed.

Possible to do, but best left to experts.
pettit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 03:29 PM
  #5  
tatolazo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: concepcion, CHILE
Posts: 431
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to reverse a servo???

Hi Dick:
I ´m having fun here in Chile with R/C Report, a lot material to read each month.
In deed I´m almost sure the servos I tryed to reverse was the 3003 from Futaba or the 148, but i´m pretty sure that in both was difficult to separate the motor from the circuit board. It is possible, but a lot of work and instead of buy precision tools, better get the reverser ready to use.

I will try later with some cheap servo to prasctice the procedure and if it works I will do it on a pair of Hi tec 645 Metal geared.


Thanks to all, any other tips??
tato
tatolazo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 12:00 PM
  #6  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to reverse a servo???

Its not a problem on Hitec servos that I have seen. Both the leads to the motor and the pot have fly leads.
The Futaba and Hitec servos turn the oposite direction as they come form the factory so you might just use a Hitec on one side and a Futaba on the other. The Hitec 645 is quite a bit stronger than the Futaba 148 or 3003, however
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 10:45 AM
  #7  
ksmills
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cordova, TN
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to reverse a servo???

I bought a Nitro p51 foam job on sale. Put it together, set it up / rigged it , and took it outside to taxi around the driveway some. Everything worked fine. The next day I noticed the elevator was going in the wrong direction. You pull back on the stick and the elev. goes down to the nose down direction. I am almost 99% sure it was correct when I started. Everything went together too easily. My son agrees that he thought it was correct also. Can a servo reverse some way on it's own?  Is there a simple way to change it back?  
ksmills is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 11:36 AM
  #8  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to reverse a servo???

You should be able to reverse any servo as needed in the transmitter, look for servo reversing in the manual.
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service