RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Signal boost

Reply

Old 01-10-2005, 08:04 PM
  #1  
tc3mafia
Member
Thread Starter
 
tc3mafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: south, FL
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Signal boost

Is there a device that will boost the signal on the rc radio to make it controllable at a further distance? kinda like they do for cellphones
tc3mafia is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 09:20 PM
  #2  
smokingcrater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Up north, ND
Posts: 2,353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

99% of those cellphone boosters don't work, they won't increase signal and might actually decrease it in some cases. anyway, no there isn't, as that wouldn't be legal anyway via the fcc. how exactly are you able to see it at the end of the tx range? from your [link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_2518564/anchors_2519184/mpage_1/key_/anchor/tm.htm#2519184]previous post[/link], what do you need extended range for? unless there is a problem with your setup range should be as far as you can see, and then some.
smokingcrater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 12:52 AM
  #3  
Electriceddie
 
Electriceddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Massapequa Park, NY
Posts: 650
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

Watch what you do with signal boosting, it will voilate FCC regulations, by the way it is a Federal offense. Besides it is not needed. You should have signal range to control the plane to the point where it is out of eyesight, yet still controllable. But what good is that. The point is if you are flying that far out then how can you see it to control it anyway. If your range is suffering I would suggest having the Radio checked out by service personel. No R/C system should ever need any kind of signal boost if it is working correctly to begin with.

Hope this helps

Ed
Electriceddie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 12:11 PM
  #4  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

If you really want to do this get yourself a tech license and a radio that you can put on the ham band. then get a linear amplifier and connect it to your transmitter. By the time you get your tech license you will know how to do it. BTW at the frequencies we have you will be limited by the curvature of the earth - about 17 miles.
I once flew a vehicle around the moon. Others called it a spacecraft and I had help from a few other people. But I was the one that sent the commands and was in control.
After the first flight was over we ran a test to determine how much power it took to transmit to the moon and get a command thru. We reduced the power to 2 watts and was still getting commands thru. We couldn't reduce the power anymore. It don't take much.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 03:19 PM
  #5  
mr.rc-cam
Senior Member
 
mr.rc-cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Coast, CA
Posts: 536
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

The best thing you can do is use a R/C Rx with good sensitivity and selectivity (stay away from the cheapies) and install the Rx antenna so that it is full length (not coiled or folded). These simple solutions are just as effective as playing with the Tx power levels.

RC-CAM
mr.rc-cam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 06:48 PM
  #6  
Electriceddie
 
Electriceddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Massapequa Park, NY
Posts: 650
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

Dude are you for real? Or are you full of it! What do you mean by flying around the moon ? Where you an astronaut? How can you encourage someone to break the law? I think the FCC and the AMA would frown upon your thinking.
Electriceddie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 08:38 PM
  #7  
smokingcrater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Up north, ND
Posts: 2,353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

ORIGINAL: Electriceddie

Dude are you for real? Or are you full of it! What do you mean by flying around the moon ? Where you an astronaut? How can you encourage someone to break the law? I think the FCC and the AMA would frown upon your thinking.

umm, he is encouraging them to stay WITHIN the law, not break it!!

dirtybird, as far as the moon, which one, ranger, mariner, or orbiter? you also forgot to tell them that is not 2 watts out of a 3db omni... [8D]
smokingcrater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 10:25 AM
  #8  
Electriceddie
 
Electriceddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Massapequa Park, NY
Posts: 650
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

UUUHHH DUUH,

I doubt that he has a ham band radio to begin with. But the point is that you do not need to boost the signal if the radio is functioning correctly. Do you really think he is flying that far away? What would be the point? Still what's with this statement "The frequencies we have you will be limited by the curvature of the earth - about 17 miles." Where the heck are you flying? I still have not heard if this guy dirtybird is for real. Is he an astronaut or an astro"nut". Besides to top it off I was tlaking to Dirtybird not you. Do you usually answer other people questions for them?
Electriceddie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 11:12 AM
  #9  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

The spacecraft was the Lunar Orbiter built by the Boeing Co. I was Boeing's system engineer at the Goldstone tracking station near Barstow Ca. I was not an astronaut. My feet were firmly planted on the ground. The time was 1967-68. We photographed the landing sites for the Apollo landings.
The ground transmitting antenna had an 85' parabolic antenna with a gain of 57db. That helps a little bit.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 11:37 AM
  #10  
laryboy
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: wilmington, MA
Posts: 825
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

electriceddie........you removed all doubt from my mind
laryboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 02:35 PM
  #11  
mr.rc-cam
Senior Member
 
mr.rc-cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Coast, CA
Posts: 536
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

The ground transmitting antenna had an 85' parabolic antenna with a gain of 57db. That helps a little bit.
A 2 watt Tx driving a +57dB antenna is equiv to a standard whip antenna driven at 1,002,375 watts. That does help a little bit.
mr.rc-cam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 02:56 PM
  #12  
backfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Honeoye Falls, NY
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

Poor tc3mafia. Asked a simple question (probably innocent at that), and got the third degree; culminating in an autobiography of dirtybird's career. Anyone notice that tc3mafia hasn't had anything else to say?
backfire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 11:23 AM
  #13  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

That was only 2 years out of my career. Send cash and I will give you the rest.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 12:59 PM
  #14  
Scar
My Feedback: (3)
 
Scar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Peoria Hts, Il. IL
Posts: 3,120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

ORIGINAL: backfire

Poor tc3mafia. Asked a simple question (probably innocent at that), and got the third degree; culminating in an autobiography of dirtybird's career. Anyone notice that tc3mafia hasn't had anything else to say?
Simple question? It was a troll, right?

Or so it seems to me.
Dave Olson
Scar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 02:17 PM
  #15  
backfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Honeoye Falls, NY
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

Perhaps.
backfire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 03:48 AM
  #16  
Mediaman
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: El Centro, CA
Posts: 157
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

He just asked a simple question!!! There's a few ways to increase ERP (effective radiated power):

1- Increase TPO, add a RF ampliffier.
2- Change the antenna for one with more gain.

Or,

3- Use a directional antenna, (focus the power, instead of radiating to 360 degrees)

Is it legal? No. Will fcc do anything? I doubt it. Example; I'm in broadcast. Just in this market, there's four broadcast medias that constantly violate FCC regulations. This goes from the lies by the thier FCC attourneys when filling applications, to the way they operate their broadcast facilities.

Now, I'm not implying to go ahead and break the law. Keep in mind that there's good reasons for the RF output levels of our Tx's. They go from RF exposure, to keeping inteference within acceptable levels. Any of my suggestions sound easy, they do however require considerable knoledge and investment. You just can't add an RF amplifier and use your existing antenna, you need to match, couple and tune the whole system. Otherwise your setup would be inefficient, or the reflected RF power could burn any of the amplifying RF stages.

Anyway, it's all good,,,, a bit long.


Carlos
Mediaman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 02:22 PM
  #17  
smokingcrater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Up north, ND
Posts: 2,353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

although the fcc is most likely going to be none the wiser, and wouldn't really care if someone actually did turn you in, the big problem is that you have opened yourself up to full liability. the ama will walk away in an instant if you are sued, and your homeowners most likely will also, leaving you fully responsible for any damage that might or might not be related to you. (a guy crashes nearby into a passing car, and the lawyers blame your illegally modifed/out of spec transmitter, not much you can do...)
smokingcrater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 03:05 PM
  #18  
SwampFlier-RCU
 
SwampFlier-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San José, Costa Rica
Posts: 1,130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

hmmmm.. I wonder why electriceddie hasn't post again...
hope he had cooled his jets
cool mini-bio dirtybird.....
SwampFlier-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2005, 11:22 PM
  #19  
Electriceddie
 
Electriceddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Massapequa Park, NY
Posts: 650
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

Laryboy - Dude are you really 94 years old?
Electriceddie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2005, 08:26 AM
  #20  
laryboy
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: wilmington, MA
Posts: 825
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

your question says a lot about you.
laryboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2005, 02:55 PM
  #21  
Electriceddie
 
Electriceddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Massapequa Park, NY
Posts: 650
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

In your bio it states your age as being born in 1910. So are you just an IDIOT or a LIAR? Oh and By the way your answer will say a lot about you!!!!
Electriceddie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2005, 11:03 PM
  #22  
Dsegal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,065
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

> In your bio it states your age as being born in 1910 <

Before you start flaming people you should realize that 1910 is the default date unless you enter another year.
Dsegal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2005, 11:32 PM
  #23  
blw
My Feedback: (3)
 
blw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Opelika, AL
Posts: 9,447
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Signal boost

electriceddie,

I see that you have 47 posts on RCU. That means that about 10% of them, all on this thread, are rude and insulting. Take something to relax and tell yourself that this is only a hobby.
blw is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service