Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba module retuning

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2005, 03:56 PM
KINGX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba module retuning

Hi to all,

I have a question about Futaba 9C modules. It clearly states on the manual that if the Tx crystal is changed to change channels, then the radio's module has to be retuned by Futaba service because it will not operate properly. However, it also says that this is the procedure in NORTH AMERICA. I live in Europe and as you can understand i cannot send my 72Mhz Futaba sets to the US for "re-tuning" ! I have been operating a 6EXA for two years now in two diffirent channels. The original was ch23 and i also use ch18. I have had no problem so far with range or glitches or other stuff.......I am now also changing crystals in my 9CAP without retuning the coils that are located inside the module. I use ch23,24 and 21 without the slightest "malfunction" . Even the failsafe works fine in PCM mode regardless of the channel used!

So, is it really a marketing thing that the module has to be retuned if the channel is changed? $60 for a module to just change channels is im my book called "Technological Marketing Scam".

How can this be applicable only to NORTH AMERICA as Futaba claims?

I would like your honest opinion and experience on the subject and please do not just answer like "do what the manual says" or "futaba knows better" or "this is the.....law!". My experience is that what is said on the manual is only applicable to changing bands and not channels.And this experience is from 2 years of troublefree operation, not a single glitch even with micro receivers in environments with potential for high interference. So let us just be honest!

Happy new year.
Old 01-11-2005, 04:24 PM
carrellh

Default RE: Futaba module retuning