RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

single stick transmitter

Reply

Old 01-11-2005, 11:01 PM
  #1  
outriggerracing
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: taylorsville, MS
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default single stick transmitter

Years ago i learned to fly with a world engines single stick transmitter. i also own an old pro line. does anyone update/work on these or does any one still sell single stick transmitters. been out of the hobby for a while and am getting back into it and was just wondering??


thanks

johnny
outriggerracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 09:34 PM
  #2  
lockjaw-express
Senior Member
My Feedback: (36)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 157
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

Hi Johnny,

Yes, Marv Jensen at Jensen Jet Models. Just do a yahoo search on his site. He has it all!!!!

BR, Mark
lockjaw-express is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2005, 11:00 PM
  #3  
unclegeorge
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SARASOTA, FL
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

I just ran into 5 Kraft Single sticks and 2 proline single sticks at a swap meet. I understand that Radio South does a great job putting in JR or Futaba Equipment into the old boxes.
unclegeorge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 07:35 PM
  #4  
bizwebpages
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

I had to laugh at your suggestion of Marv Jensen.
He quoted me $600 plus for an empty transmitter case that contained nothing but a gimbal.
Wow!
bizwebpages is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 07:36 PM
  #5  
bizwebpages
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

You're right Tony will do a great job....
Got $600 plus just for a Xmtr conversion?
bizwebpages is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 11:23 PM
  #6  
Scar
My Feedback: (3)
 
Scar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Peoria Hts, Il. IL
Posts: 3,120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter


ORIGINAL: bizwebpages

You're right Tony will do a great job....
Got $600 plus just for a Xmtr conversion?
I didn't realize, until The Pipe opened a thread on single stick transmitters, that there are a number of flyers who must have a single stick, due to various hand or dexterity conditions. As such, they will in fact pay the extra $$ to have a single stick transmitter built up.

The market is small, so I suppose the "niche market prices" apply. If you have both your hands, and they both work good, there's every reason to use the less expensive Mode 2 or Mode 1 transmitters. If you don't have full use of both hands, it's nice there's a single stick choice available.

Good luck,
Dave Olson
Scar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 12:19 AM
  #7  
Ch0pp3r
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

I have a 1972 World 5 channel radio, single stick. I too am interested in converting it to a modern day radio or in selling the radio for somebody who is interested. Is it really $600 to convert it over to a newer Futaba?
Ch0pp3r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:16 PM
  #8  
forestroke
Senior Member
 
forestroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Taipei, TAIWAN
Posts: 1,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

well i have retrofit a futaba skysport into a kraft single stick. the problem is with the pots. although the pot are both 5k, the active range of resistance is different, the futaba's being larger. so with the retrofit, the servos movements are very small. i had to add two resistors to the potentiometer in the servos to get them to move near normal.

i have also tried retrofitting the newer radio with 3k pots and the results are good. only thing is that you have to adjust all the pots to neutral=1.5k ohms resistance. this posed a challenge to me since the pot in the knob is inaccessible.

the skysport retrofitted kraft is going into duty soon with a 15 size trainer. i lost a plane a couple of weeks ago because of radio interference followed by lack of single stick time. i know i would've survived the radio interference with my normal radio but i was just not able to bring it back from its tumble so close to the ground with the single stick.
forestroke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 06:17 PM
  #9  
AirBoy1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas City , MO
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

CAN ANY POINT ME TO THE THREAD OR ANY ON THE SINGLE STICK TRANSMITTER ?
AirBoy1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 08:44 PM
  #10  
bizwebpages
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_2529976/tm.htm
bizwebpages is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 10:27 AM
  #11  
Max1965
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: N.W. , FL
Posts: 157
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

I saw where someone installed a single stick(knobby type) onto the right hand side of a regular duel stick transmitter. This way the radio had Ail-rudder - elev on the right stick and throttle on the left stick.. I believe he used one of the Hansen single stick units. Is there any info on the net which explaines how to do this mod?
Max1965 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 01:54 AM
  #12  
oporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: LARGO, FL
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

MERV TOLD ME OF A DENTIST IN CONN. WHO DOES CONVERSIONS AS A HOBBY.

DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW TO CONTACT HIM
oporter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 05:58 PM
  #13  
Endurance
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: , MO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

I've built several custom radios for various applications, never a single stick though. The radios are capable of 1024 resolution, anywhere from 1-16 channels, and they operate on a protocol like FHSS but at 900MHz instead of 2.4GHz. I have done all kinds of custom features so let me know if I can help.

endurance@endurance-rc.com
Endurance is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 08:57 PM
  #14  
P-40 DRIVER
Senior Member
 
P-40 DRIVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 1,623
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: single stick transmitter

Why not just send that old Proline into Radio South and have them bring it up to Spec. Last time I looked at their website, It did not seem like a big deal.
P-40 DRIVER is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service