RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

4 servo acro wing How to W/ Fut 9C?

Reply

Old 01-16-2005, 05:41 PM
  #1  
rcguy!
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (69)
 
rcguy!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chesterland , OH
Posts: 2,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 4 servo acro wing How to W/ Fut 9C?

Ok folks,
Here's my delima. I have a 4 servo wing....2 aileron servos and 2 flap servos. I have a 9 ch RX with the super 9C TX. I want to have 3 position flaps...up, 20 degree, and 46 degree. I want to use the 3 position switch on the TX face...NOT the side sliders. I also want the elevator to retrim for at least the 45 degree position. I've scanned the Futaba website and can't find anything exactly like this. The flap servos should be independant of each other for trimming purposes. I don't want them on a Y harness. MUST be able to use throttle cut. Help! Please

Dave Rigotti
rcguy! is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 08:11 PM
  #2  
former spad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4 servo acro wing How to W/ Fut 9C?

Harry Higley has written detailed book about Fut 9c programming, check local hobby shop
former   spad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 09:09 PM
  #3  
rcguy!
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (69)
 
rcguy!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chesterland , OH
Posts: 2,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4 servo acro wing How to W/ Fut 9C?

ORIGINAL: former spad

Harry Higley has written detailed book about Fut 9c programming, check local hobby shop
Thanks!

Dave Rigotti
rcguy! is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 01:34 PM
  #4  
eaglelope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4 servo acro wing How to W/ Fut 9C?

Had a 9c for about a month now. It seems you should be able to use endpoints and trim to get the three positions you want. It seems that Flaps on the three position switch are full up - center - full down. Use mechanical setup and endpoint to set "up" at 0, trim/sub-trim to set servo center so it's at 20 degrees, and servo end point to set full down at 46.

Wouldn't that work?

You can move throttle cut to any switch you want. There are two three position switches on the 9C, one on the right face and one on the right top. I use the face for normal-idle down- cut and the top switch for flaps.

Mark
eaglelope is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 05:10 PM
  #5  
rcguy!
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (69)
 
rcguy!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chesterland , OH
Posts: 2,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4 servo acro wing How to W/ Fut 9C?

ORIGINAL: eaglelope

Had a 9c for about a month now. It seems you should be able to use endpoints and trim to get the three positions you want. It seems that Flaps on the three position switch are full up - center - full down. Use mechanical setup and endpoint to set "up" at 0, trim/sub-trim to set servo center so it's at 20 degrees, and servo end point to set full down at 46.

Wouldn't that work?

You can move throttle cut to any switch you want. There are two three position switches on the 9C, one on the right face and one on the right top. I use the face for normal-idle down- cut and the top switch for flaps.

Mark
What channels would I use and would they be "mixed" ?
Dave
rcguy! is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 12:10 PM
  #6  
eaglelope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4 servo acro wing How to W/ Fut 9C?

Hi Dave,


I think I see the dilemma a little better. The kind of flap mixing you want is in the glider model but Throttle Cut is only in the Acro model.
I think you can do what you want with mixes though. Try this:

Servo Assigns
1 - Ail1
2 - Elevator
3 - Throttle
4- Rudder
5 - Gear
6 - Flap1
7 - Ail2 (aka AUX1)
8 - Flap2 (aka AUX2)


*Open a new Acro model with no mixing on
*Go to Aux-CH in Basic Set Ch-6 to Sw C, Ch-7 to Null, Ch-8 to Null
* You now have a three position switch (C) for flaps and have taken controls off of channels we'll use for something else.

AILERONS
*Go to ProgMix1 in Advanced setup
*turn MIX->ON, MAS->AILE,SLV->AUX1,LINK->ON,TRIM->ON (your pref),SW->dont care,POSI->NULL
* Set rates to -100 or +100 as needed for proper direction)
* You should now have ailerons an channels 1 and 7

FLAPS
* Go to ProgMix2 in Advanced
*turn MIX->ON, MAS->FLAP, SLV->AUX2,LINK->ON,SW->don't care, POSI->NULL
* Set rates to -100 or +11 as needed for proper direction
*You should now have flaps on Ch6 and Ch8

This should allow seperate end point and subtrim adjustment on each surface.
You still can still use elvator->flap mixing. Set it for Switch-C DOWN or Cntr&Down.
You can use switch-G for Idle down and Throttle Cut

I don't have a plane set up this way so I'm just using the Servo graphs on the 9c to make sure the mixing looks right. You can't really take advantage of any Flaperon or Ail-Diff mixing this way, you just have to program it yourself. The built in aileron mixes assume you're using Channel 6 for an aileron and we are not. You can tell the 9C to use Ch-5 for aileron but that makes it use Ch-5 AND Ch-6 which won't work for what you want.

I haven't played around with the Glider models too much but you might also be able to use the Glider2 flap configuration and then set up a pmix on Channel 3 to get throttle cut back using Channel 9 as a master. That might give you more mixing options for full span mixes using flaps and ailerons.

Mark
eaglelope is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 12:49 PM
  #7  
eaglelope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4 servo acro wing How to W/ Fut 9C?

I just realized that you can use AIL-DIFF mixing as that uses channels 1 and 7 for ailerons. Just change my aileron instructions above to:

AILERONS
*Go to AIL-DIFF in Advanced setup
*turn MIX->ON
* Set rates as desired
* You should now have ailerons an channels 1 and 7

What I listed before would work but AIL-DIFF makes it easier to dial in differential to correct adverse yaw.

Mark
eaglelope is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 07:44 PM
  #8  
rcguy!
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (69)
 
rcguy!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chesterland , OH
Posts: 2,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4 servo acro wing How to W/ Fut 9C?

ORIGINAL: eaglelope

I just realized that you can use AIL-DIFF mixing as that uses channels 1 and 7 for ailerons. Just change my aileron instructions above to:

AILERONS
*Go to AIL-DIFF in Advanced setup
*turn MIX->ON
* Set rates as desired
* You should now have ailerons an channels 1 and 7

What I listed before would work but AIL-DIFF makes it easier to dial in differential to correct adverse yaw.

Mark
Thanks Mark!

I'll look into it in the next day or two.

Dave Rigotti
rcguy! is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service