RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Optic 6 Backorder Problem

Reply

Old 01-17-2005, 09:39 PM
  #1  
velocity
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC,
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Optic 6 Backorder Problem

I placed an order for an Optic 6 system a couple months ago with Tower. Still on backorder. I have read on the HItec site of people on backorder for 6 months. Does anyone know what the malfunction at Hitec seems to be on shipping these radios out???
velocity is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 07:19 PM
  #2  
CFIMEI
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 86
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Optic 6 Backorder Problem

Hi,

I don't know for sure what is the hangup with Optic 6 deliveries, but having received mine 2 months ago, having sent it in for a throttle channel problem, having found the problem unresolved upon return & then having been sent a new Optic 6 with the very same problem, I would venture to guess that there is a serious software defect & they are likely trying to prevent too many of the defective units from hitting the streets until software version 1.x is available. I imagine their phone bill to Korea is mounting!

CFIMEI
CFIMEI is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 11:32 PM
  #3  
jneesy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: horton, AL
Posts: 502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Optic 6 Backorder Problem

cancel your order and get a 7c or 9c you wont regret it
jneesy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 11:37 PM
  #4  
MrMulligan
My Feedback: (314)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Keyport, NJ
Posts: 1,099
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Optic 6 Backorder Problem

I have an Optic 6 and so far no problems. What exactly was the problem with the throttle?
MrMulligan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 10:27 AM
  #5  
SwampFlier-RCU
 
SwampFlier-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San José, Costa Rica
Posts: 1,130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Optic 6 Backorder Problem

You can get the optic 6 at quantummodels and hoby barn... I think that demand exceeded supply
SwampFlier-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 12:03 PM
  #6  
CFIMEI
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 86
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Optic 6 Backorder Problem

Hi,

The Optic 6 throttle problem only seems to occur when you try to use channel 5 as a second aileron output. ( This is the main reason I got the Tx, so I can use it with 5 channel M 5 Rx's & elevator/aileron mixing.) When you activate "Aileron Differential" feature to assign Ch 5 to aileron & then run down the throttle (ch 3) sub-trim, the Tx completely locks up. You can't get back out of sub-trim & the modulation of the RF module stops! You must turn the Tx off & back on to resume operation. Any program changes made in the session which ended in lockup are lost & must be re-entered. What is really threatening is that if you have a throttle stick position right above cutoff & run the sub-trim down to a certain (& unpredictable) value that doesn't cause lockup & then reduce the stick position further, the lockup occurs! this means that it could occur in flight! Only throttle seems to be affected & as soon as you disable aileron differential, you can use the sub-trim normally. If you don't use this feature you may never run into this defect although a post by a heli flyer describes a similar problem with some combination of heli settings. There may be other, untried program combos which could cause this. HiTec did a "gimbal recalibration" on my Optic & sent it back with the problem still present. They then sent me a purportedly "new" Optic 6 which proved to have the very same problem! Interestingly, my original Tx had firmware version "1.1" & the "newer" Tx has version "0". I will probably return the newer one as it has the version "0".

CFIMEI
CFIMEI is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service