RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

8U Super + Flight modes

Reply

Old 02-03-2005, 03:19 AM
  #1  
Hughes500E
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (16)
 
Hughes500E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Armstrong, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,514
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 8U Super + Flight modes

Hi guys,
Trying to figure out a good way to drop expo settings at the flick of a switch with the 8U super. Would be nice to have different flight modes etc. Can I program a plane with flight modes using the heli programming? Can anyone see any troubles with this?
Thanks!
I like to use full throws with a large amount of expo. This way I can correct in extreme moves without having to worry about hitting a switch to pull out fast etc. The problem with this setup is hovering, torque rolls etc. With so much expo it takes a lot of stick. If I can program different flight modes I can drop expo at a flick gaining the upper hand.
Make sense []
I'm just starting to research this! any input would be great!
Hughes500E is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 09:43 AM
  #2  
Hughes500E
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (16)
 
Hughes500E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Armstrong, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,514
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 8U Super + Flight modes

So far no luck [&o]
I hear the Stylus can do this!
Hughes500E is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 10:08 AM
  #3  
LesUyeda
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,670
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 8U Super + Flight modes

Check this out. The answer MAY be here.

http://www.futaba-rc.com/faq/faq-8u.html

Les
LesUyeda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 12:42 PM
  #4  
Bax
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 19,482
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 8U Super + Flight modes

The Futaba 8U Super will not allow you to assign exponential to a switch. It's fixed to the same switch that is used to control the dual rate for that particular surface. You also can't assign all the expos to a single switch. Each surface has its own switch.

The 9C and 9C Super will allow you to set which switch controls expo, so you can set the expo for all your control surfaces and have them activate off of a single switch. That also means that the dual-rates are acivated off the same switch. You can't separate the dual-rate and exponential functions to different switches. You can, though, set the switch(es) so that flipping one way is expo with full rates, and the other way is no expo and low rates (or no expo and full rates).
Bax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:40 PM
  #5  
Hughes500E
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (16)
 
Hughes500E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Armstrong, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,514
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 8U Super + Flight modes

Thanks Bax,
If I can set the dual rates switch as you specify , then a guy could set them to have full rates on both switch positions and just use them to control expo that works!
I just tried it and, wahoo it works. Now I went one step further. I assigned the same dual rate switch to each, rudder,elevator and aileron and guess what , it worked as well. No need to assign expo to another. So I now I have all my control surfaces dual rates controlled by one switch D this also controls expo. With the switch in the up position I have 100% rates on all surfaces with negative expo dialed in to suit my needs for each surface giving me full deflection if I need it (don't need dual rates). Then, with switch D in the down position I can still have 100% rates but with the flick of D I have positive expo allowing me to hold hovers, torque rolls etc with extremely fine stick movements. This for me will be the best of both worlds. Too cool
Now I just have to be careful setting the craft up, wouldn't want too much stick with no expo and snap it in
Hughes500E is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service