Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Hitec Eclipse 7 or Futaba 7C ?

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2005, 08:12 PM
AirBorne_AZ
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hitec Eclipse 7 or Futaba 7C ?

Hello All,

I have been using a pretty old JR radio (JR Max 4) for quite a while, but now I need to use elevons and v-tail functions, so I am thinking of buying a computer radio. I have never used a computer radio before, so I am unable to compare the two radios just by reading their manuals. I am asking you guys because comparisons coming from users are much more helpful than just reading the user manual. I plan to keep this radio for some time. Please let me know what you guys think of these radios in terms of ergonomics, ease of use, functionality, programming options, Rx options and channels, battery capabilities, position of knobs, etc etc...

Also, is there any advantage going PCM or should FM be fine ?

I would really appreciate your help.

Thanks.
Old 02-22-2005, 11:46 PM
CP140

Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7 or Futaba 7C ?

I've only held these two radios... not really used them as I use an Airtronics RD6000...but here's my thoughts...

The Hitec will let you select which "shift" you transmit... so you would be able to use your existing JR receivers, and if you get the Spectra module for it, you can transmit on any channel. I don't think the Futaba has a module like that...(I could be wrong, there was some talk about it ) and I'm pretty sure the Futaba can't change which shift it transmits.

On the other hand, I've looked at the manuals for the two (online) and it seems to me that the Futaba is easier(more intuitive?) to program and it does seem to have a better display screen than the Hitec.