RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Retracts with a 4 channel??

Reply

Old 02-17-2005, 02:28 PM
  #1  
stevedoo
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: davenport, IA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Retracts with a 4 channel??

I just bought a GWS A10 w/300's and a steerable nose gear. And from what I have read, the nose gear steering is pretty much a useless feature. So my intent is to put light weight retracts on it instead of the goofy fixed gear it has on it now. Any way, i wanted to know if anyone could give me any advice on rather or not I could use the servo for the steering nose gear as a retract serv or if I'd need a different servo? ( i've never had retracts before) Also, is there a way to use a 4 channel radio for retracts or would it just be smarter to go up to a 5-6 channel radio?
stevedoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 12:37 AM
  #2  
prodigyflyer
Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 93
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Retracts with a 4 channel??

On every radio that I have seen before, the wheel that does the steering, is also the same channel that controls the rudder. So I do not forsee you being able to have retracts with a 4channel radio. In the long run, I would keep the plane as is, simply because it requires much more work than you may think to convert a plane to retracts unless it is already setup for them, and simply has a fixed gear.

However, if the plane does have recessed wings to accomodate retracts, I would just get a 5channel radio.


JMO< take it as you will.
prodigyflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:07 AM
  #3  
stevedoo
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: davenport, IA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Retracts with a 4 channel??

Thanks for the reply. The A10 has a little area to stash a gear in the wing and plenty in the nose. Also, it doesn't have a rudder control. My main concern is the functionality of the radio and servos. Like i said, I've never put retracts on before and am not real sure how the servos work. As in, are they powered and pulling on the gear all the time, or do they only activate when the switch is thrown in either direction. What I thought about doing was using the nose servo as the retract and simply throwing the trim slider all the way 1 direction to up them up, and reverse for down. So i guess my main question is do you know if retract servos are active all the time or just when needed?
thanks again for the help.
stevedoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:54 AM
  #4  
rccrazedman
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Schuylkill Haven, PA
Posts: 479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Retracts with a 4 channel??

retract servos retract fully one way or the other then lock in place they are said not to constantly keep pulling power. but they cannont be set up in the way your talking because I don't believe the trim is going to be enought to keep the power signal from the reciever all the way in one direction or the other . you must have at least a 5 channel radio for this because retracts are set up on a switch.
rccrazedman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 01:23 PM
  #5  
stevedoo
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: davenport, IA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Retracts with a 4 channel??

Thats the answer i was looking for, I appreciate it. Now I can move forward with this without alot of un-necessary expensive mistakes.
stevedoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 08:42 PM
  #6  
tclaridge
Senior Member
 
tclaridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 628
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Retracts with a 4 channel??

I fly the A10, and would like to have the wheels retract, but I just left them hangin'. Its fun to bring it in and taxi back. I latter replaced the wire ones with some scale looking foams. They look great.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq45768.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	58.1 KB
ID:	233918   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vq52857.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	233919   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xc79934.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	41.0 KB
ID:	233920  
tclaridge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 03:08 PM
  #7  
sfsjkid
 
sfsjkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: fremont, CA
Posts: 592
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Retracts with a 4 channel??

stevedoo, you might do a little more research on the retracts in the electric plane forum. The retract servo that was mentioned here is a full-sized one, which probably weighs more than your current flight pack combined. Carl Goldberg once had a retract system that operated off of the throttle servo, full up trim/throttle retracted up, full down trim/throttle retracted down. Neat idea, but not practical with today's systems, nor your electric with an ESC.

Good luck!
sfsjkid is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service