RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Reply

Old 07-01-2005, 10:55 AM
  #1  
jester125
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

I tried to search but came up nothing for my particular goal so I'm sorry if its been said and done.
I have a Futaba 7c TX, Futaba R148DF RX and a Funtana 90 with separate servos for each of the 2 ailerons and 2 elevators half's. I would like to have each servo on a separate channel in order to adjust/trim them out. The manual says mixing for v-tail but I cant seem to find anything for dual elevator and aileron mixing. Can someone please help me program my 7c to do these functions?

Thanks, Chris
jester125 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 01:24 PM
  #2  
LSP972
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Zachary, LA
Posts: 4,749
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Use channels 1 and 6 for the ailerons, and program them in the Flaperon menu.

The separate elevators are another story. The 9Z has a program for this, using channels 2 and 5, called Ailevator. The 7C has no similar capability.

I just got a 7C for an auxillary/buddy box radio; its programming is quite similar to the 9C, but I've still got a lot of "ciphering" to do before I'm familiar with it. I believe it will be possible to set up Ailevators with a program mix, slaving channel 5 to channel 2, but I've got to get in there and see. And unfortunately, that is a ways down on my "to do" list.

Hopefully, someone has done this and will chime in on this thread, saving both of us some time...
LSP972 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 01:39 PM
  #3  
famousdave
Senior Member
My Feedback: (61)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bradenton , FL
Posts: 2,262
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

I would use an equalizer or matchbox on a y-cable. With the Futaba especially you will get some significant surface speed and proportion differences.

DP
famousdave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 07:33 PM
  #4  
jester125
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Wow I guess its safe to say it cant be done, that stinks I would have thought that was a basic function.

Chris
jester125 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 07:58 PM
  #5  
IronCross
Senior Member
 
IronCross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NearBy, AZ
Posts: 2,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

On my 9C I use Ailevators and channels 2 and 8... I used endpoint to equalize the throws between the two halfs and subtim to equalize the center position... They track perfectly... No problems at all.
IronCross is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 10:02 PM
  #6  
rccrazedman
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Schuylkill Haven, PA
Posts: 479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

yeah I have the 7c and even if you use a mix to do the duel elevators the trim will not move the second elevator half thats not pluged into channel 2. this would cause a roll with elevator trim inputs and would be fatal to your plane. the only way to run duel elevator servos is either a matchbox or a y harness.
rccrazedman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 03:51 AM
  #7  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

My understanding is that you CAN set up dual elevator servos and have them respond to the elevator but NOT the elevator trim. So, it works but is extremely limiting, just as you found.
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 06:48 AM
  #8  
LSP972
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Zachary, LA
Posts: 4,749
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Yeah, I didn't think about the auxillary channel trim. That would be a big problem; but not an insurmountable one. You simply adjust the trim on the side that DOES respond to the trim lever, and match up the other side mechanically. But this will work ONLY if the needed adjustments are very small. Much more than two turns on the clevis will cause assymetrical deflection, which will increase the farther the surface moves away from neutral.

Page 43 of your manual will show you how to do flaperons.

desertpig, are you speaking of differences caused by this radio specifically, or differences in Futaba receivers/servos generally?
LSP972 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 03:07 PM
  #9  
Pile-O-Wood
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Third Rock From the Sun,
Posts: 184
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Per Futaba, if you use dual elevator servos, the trim will not work on the slave channel.
Pile-O-Wood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 03:24 PM
  #10  
IronCross
Senior Member
 
IronCross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NearBy, AZ
Posts: 2,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

This is good to know about the 7C... I would have assumed it would handle dual evlevators..
IronCross is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 10:52 PM
  #11  
MannyEdge
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
MannyEdge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 321
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Please I need help on setting up doing dual elevators. How do you do it? I know you cannot trim out the left elevator.

Has anyone tried the MSA-10 10SX Synchronizer use dual elevators? Does it work?
MannyEdge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:50 PM
  #12  
zoaartcc
Member
 
zoaartcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hornbrook, CA
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

I do not wish to hi-jack this thread but Ihave a related question. Iam running dual servos on ch2-7 no problem. However, when I flip the "B" switch chanel 7 goes full down. How can I disable this? I have checked all the settings and nothing is pointing to sw B and it is set to INH as well.

Thanks for any advise.

Dan
zoaartcc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 07:48 AM
  #13  
landeck
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sandy Springs, GA GA
Posts: 1,710
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Check the Parameters menu. You may find the switch B is set to channel 7 by default.

Bruce
landeck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 07:23 PM
  #14  
zoaartcc
Member
 
zoaartcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hornbrook, CA
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Bruce, you da man. Just as you suggested Ilooked in the parameter settings and channel 7 was defaulting to sw B. I nulled it and everything is now great. Thanks again for your reply and maybe even saving my plane from some deadly accident.

Dan
zoaartcc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:37 AM
  #15  
landeck
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sandy Springs, GA GA
Posts: 1,710
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

You are welcome!

Bruce
landeck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 09:52 AM
  #16  
rctom
Senior Member
 
rctom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
Posts: 6,189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?


I read the Futaba 76 2.4ghz manual. On page 45 it clearly explains how to use ailevator to get two servos to work together in the wings.

This is how it's done on many other radios (like the 9C), why is this not being used?

TF
rctom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 11:34 AM
  #17  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

On the 9C, Ailevator specifically uses only Ch 2 and Ch 8, and does not let you substitute. I am not sure whether or not the 7C has Ailevator tied to specific channels or if it is more flexible.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 12:44 PM
  #18  
rctom
Senior Member
 
rctom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
Posts: 6,189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?


ORIGINAL: BuschBarber

On the 9C, Ailevator specifically uses only Ch 2 and Ch 8, and does not let you substitute. I am not sure whether or not the 7C has Ailevator tied to specific channels or if it is more flexible.

I seriously doubt they would implement a feature to use a channel that doesn't exist on the transmitter. As usual Futaba isn't very clear which channels are used for what but I'm confident that is uses channels in the 1-7 range.

TF
rctom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 02:34 PM
  #19  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

No ailevator support on the xxMhz 7C, the 2.4Ghz version does support ailevator.
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 02:46 PM
  #20  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

I did not mean to imply that the Ailevator program, on the 7C, required Ch8. I simply meant that if it is available, it may allow you to substitute more than one channel for the second Elevator half.

I helped a friend set up his Quique Yak 54, on a 7C 2.4, last year, and I believe we used Ailevator for the Elevator halves, but it was not intuitive when it came to picking the channel for the second Elevator half.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 03:39 PM
  #21  
zoaartcc
Member
 
zoaartcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hornbrook, CA
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?


ORIGINAL: rctom


I read the Futaba 76 2.4ghz manual. On page 45 it clearly explains how to use ailevator to get two servos to work together in the wings.

This is how it's done on many other radios (like the 9C), why is this not being used?

TF
Tom,
The Reason that I am not using it is Ihave been unable to get it to work. When I set it up and try it only channel 2 half of the elevator moves. The channel 7 half remains DOA in the neutral position.

If anyone has any information that may make this work I would love to use it instead of using Pmix which only allows trimming only half the elevator while in flight.

Dan
zoaartcc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 04:23 PM
  #22  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Here is a link to the 7C 2.4 manual:

http://manuals.hobbico.com/fut/7c-2_4ghz-manual.pdf

As I remember, it is not obvious which channels are selected as the second Elevator half other than the fact that the second Elevator servo is plugged into Ch 5, Ch 6, or Ch 7. If you are using Flapperon, as well, then Ch 6 is usually the choice for the 2nd Aileron.

There are switches assigned to some channels and they need to be set to Null if you are using that channel in a mix.

Since Ailevator allows you to link the Elevator halves to the Aileron stick, you need to set the Aileron component, of Ailevator, to Zero, or you will get some interaction.

I have used Ailevator in both the 8AUPS and the 9C and I have not found anyone that uses the Aileron component. I tried it, but I did not find it useful.

You might place a call to Hobby Services and ask them for the specifics on the Ailevator program in the 7C 2.4, as the manual is somewhat vague.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:28 PM
  #23  
zoaartcc
Member
 
zoaartcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hornbrook, CA
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Thanks Rich

I will try Ch5 and/or 6 to see if they either will work. Will also check in parameters to see if a sw. is assigned to either and null it if so.

Thanks for the suggestion also on calling Hobby Service for help if all else fails.

Dan
zoaartcc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:31 PM
  #24  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Thanks!! Good luck!!

I just spoke to Hobico Services, yesterday, regarding Real Flight. I got through very quickly.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 03:57 PM
  #25  
zoaartcc
Member
 
zoaartcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hornbrook, CA
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevators and Dual Ailerons in 7c ?

Hi Rich

I just finished trying your ideas and using Ailevator setting and Ch. 5 on the 7c FAAST 2.4Ghz Radio and disabling the Sw. setting for channel 5 in the Parameter Setting I am now able to use dual servos on my Elevators and can trim both using the elevator trim while in flight.  Thanks a million for your help. I hope that this will help others that have the same problem as I did.

Good Flying
Dan
zoaartcc is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service