RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

trainer cords

Reply

Old 07-01-2005, 10:49 PM
  #1  
loujoduo
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: springfield, MN
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default trainer cords

Ihave a hitec transmitter and starting to learn to fly but at the field most all usr futaba and they say the futaba trainer cord will not work with hi tec they are both round plug and the same number of pins, question? are they compatable..
loujoduo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 11:27 PM
  #2  
carrellh
Senior Member
 
carrellh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: trainer cords

It would be best to get the Hitec 'one way' cord so you know for sure you have the right thing.

I have seen Futaba and Hitec connected using a Futaba cord with no problems. The student transmitter had the crystal removed while they were hooked up. I was told that is why it worked properly. I have no idea if that's true.

I have read threads on RCU that reported smoke coming out of the Hitec transmitter when connected to Futaba with Futaba cord. Maybe it matters which Futaba and which Hitec are connected?

I guess I wouldn't take the chance. A $15 cord is much cheaper than a smoked radio or crashed plane.
carrellh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 05:02 AM
  #3  
olivier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brussels, BELGIUM
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: trainer cords

Hi,

You'll get some info from this recent thread :
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=381254

To make a long story short : make yourself a buddy lead like in figure 7f-03 of chapter 7 of my website and then you'll be sure it will work without smoke.
With the lead mentioned in figure 7f-03 of my website, no power from master to slave, this means that the crystal of the slave transmitter must be removed and that both transmitter must be switched on.

Olivier
olivier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 07:03 PM
  #4  
falcon6171
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: janesville, WI
Posts: 98
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: trainer cords

Does anyone know if anyone makes a trainer cord to go from JR to hitec or futaba?
falcon6171 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 03:52 AM
  #5  
olivier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brussels, BELGIUM
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: trainer cords

Hi,

trainer cord to go from JR to hitec or futaba?
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...?ProdId=HAN173
http://www.rc-electronics.co.uk/buddymate.htm
selfmade : http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/bhabbott/trainer.html
selfmade : http://lichtenberger.s.free.fr/OrdreVoies.htm
(to be translated) from French with babelfish or other free online-translator)

Olivier
olivier is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service