RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Airtronics RX with JR or Futaba TX

Reply

Old 07-06-2005, 10:18 PM
  #1  
BillS
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,312
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Airtronics RX with JR or Futaba TX

Airtronics RX with JR or Futaba TX

I have an older Airtronics receiver that I would like to use with either a JR or Futaba radio. The purpose is to consolidate airplanes into a couple of radios to reduce the number of transmitter batteries in use. The Airtronics only holds one airplane.

Which transmitter would be compatible?

Bill
BillS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 12:12 AM
  #2  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,419
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics RX with JR or Futaba TX

If this is an FM (PPM) Airtronics Rx then then it should work with the JR Transmitter if the JR is capable of FM(PPM). Since both use positive modulation shift. All Futaba Tx's in the US are negative shift and would not work.

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 06:24 AM
  #3  
BillS
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,312
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics RX with JR or Futaba TX

Thanks John your answers are always informative. And yes both systems are FM.

Bill
BillS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 06:37 AM
  #4  
TLH101
My Feedback: (90)
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics RX with JR or Futaba TX

John is correct. Also, if this is an older black case receiver, don't forget the + & - are reversed from you JR/ Futaba servo leads.
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 08:28 AM
  #5  
BillS
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,312
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics RX with JR or Futaba TX

Terry,

Thanks for the reminder. The airplane has quite a bit of time and the servos are still mounted and operational. Looks like only a crystal change and maybe battery change will be necessary. JR connectors are being used when battery changes are necessary.

Bill
BillS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 09:58 AM
  #6  
TLH101
My Feedback: (90)
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics RX with JR or Futaba TX


ORIGINAL: BillS

Terry,

JR connectors are being used when battery changes are necessary.

Bill
Be sure you switch the wires in the JR connectors as well, and MARK them as reversed. Ask me how I know this. I use a lot of older Airtronics receivers and JR. Futaba, Hitec connectors. I do have a few recievers, and servos that no longer have any smoke in them.
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 01:36 PM
  #7  
Hughes500E
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Hughes500E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Armstrong, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,514
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics RX with JR or Futaba TX

I believe you will have to swap out the throttle and elevator wires or the like. Not positive, but pretty sure

Hughes500E is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service