RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba S3001 oscillating

Reply

Old 07-30-2005, 09:01 AM
  #1  
JimTrainor
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ontario, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba S3001 oscillating

I have a futaba S3001 that has started oscilating when it centers, and occasionally hunts for center when just sitting doing nothing. It just seems have started doing this out of the blue. Further, it also occasionally has a delayed response to inputs. Move the stick and it will somethings do nothing for a fraction of second, then move.

I first noticed this after quick charging the battery. It peaked at around 5.3 volts. It was bad enough that I wouldn't fly the plane. I tried again after the battery was down to 4.8 volts and the problem was diminished but still noticable.

I've done some searching, and understand this is not uncommon with servos. Could be pot going bad, or the need for new grease on the gears to increase the damping a bit. Of maybe this servo is out-of-spec, or failing.

The other servers in the plane are also S3001 and they perform normally.

Has anyone seen this sort of thing?

The server is running the ailerons on a 40 size plane.

Edit: A replacement servo works fine, so the cable/receiver/transmitter can be ruled out.
JimTrainor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 07:57 PM
  #2  
LSP972
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Zachary, LA
Posts: 4,749
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba S3001 oscillating

The pot (potentiometer) is probably shot. I lost a servo, a 3001 in fact, to this a week or so ago. Good thing I did a pre-flight...
LSP972 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 08:00 PM
  #3  
TLH101
My Feedback: (90)
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba S3001 oscillating

If it connected to an extention, see if you have a dirty contact on one end. An extention or Y-harness can also cause a bounce, or bad centering. Just went through this on a S9001. I had to replace the extension.
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 08:03 PM
  #4  
BillS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,312
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba S3001 oscillating

You might consider swapping the servo with the rudder servo and watching it. I have occasionally put a questionable component in a non-critical position.

Bill
BillS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 08:03 PM
  #5  
JimTrainor
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ontario, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba S3001 oscillating

The servo is does use an extension. Although I've tried a new servo, also with the extension, and the problem has gone away, so I don't think it is the extension. Of course, it could be the servo's cable (or connector). I haven't ruled that out.

Can the potentiometer be replaced? Where is that part available? I can probably do the surgery if the part is available.
JimTrainor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 10:02 PM
  #6  
gjeffers
Senior Member
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba S3001 oscillating

Hi Jim, i have just recently experienced a similar problem with my jr equipment, my rudder would shudder at random and my aileron would vibrate, i never had this problem untill i took the advise of a thousand threads and put a 1100 ma 6volt on my r700 rx and thats when it started and when i put my 4.8 back in, it hasnt done it again, so as simple as it is i wont use a 6v on this system again.
gjeffers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 03:49 PM
  #7  
LSP972
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Zachary, LA
Posts: 4,749
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba S3001 oscillating

Dunno if the pots are available. But unless you have absolutely nothing else to do, it would be cheaper to simply buy another servo. 3001s are not expensive.
LSP972 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 04:11 PM
  #8  
JimTrainor
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ontario, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba S3001 oscillating

I'd fix out of curiosity more than anything else.
JimTrainor is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service