RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Transmitter question

Reply

Old 08-07-2005, 02:22 PM
  #1  
merx9
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Transmitter question

I recently bid on a futaba transmitter on ebay and i noticed it didnt come with servos like alot of other ones on ebay. ANyways my question is if i do win the auction do i need to go buy special servos to support the transmitter? or do any servos work. Also The transmitter is a futaba magnum 2pl if i do need to buy things for it to make it work what would they be?

thanks for any help
merx9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 04:26 PM
  #2  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

any standard futaba made servos will work, opther brands may work also.
guver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 06:08 PM
  #3  
merx9
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

Ok so i should buy what? if it doesnt work? sorry im kinda new to all of this.... Servos recoever? or what thansk again
merx9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 06:36 PM
  #4  
Mad Wax
Senior Member
 
Mad Wax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

Speak English. What did you buy- is the RX included? What model plane/car/boat is this for? Model size (larger scale require higher torque servos)

If the TX/RX is HRS you HAVE to use digital servos. If it's PCM can use digital or analogue. The 2PL kit comes with 2x S3003, as well as a power switch, TX & RX and a 4.8v battery cage.
Mad Wax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 10:35 PM
  #5  
merx9
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEBI%3AIT&rd=1

is what i bid on im going to be using it in a tmaxx.... now what do you think i need?
merx9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 11:50 PM
  #6  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

You'll need a receiver, battery, servos and switch harness. If it goes for under $30.00 I'd suggest its a great deal.

Is the TMax electric or gas?
mglavin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 12:24 AM
  #7  
merx9
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

Its a gas tmaxx

Do you recomend any specific receiver, battery, servos and switch harness?
merx9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 01:02 AM
  #8  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

A 75mHz two channel RX and you'll need to find out what channel the TX is on. Futaba and or Hitec RX's are compatible with this TX. I suggest Hitec's HP-2RNB 2 Ch AM RX plus crystal on the appropriate channel, 6 Volt NiCad battery 600mAh battery, HD switch harness with charge jack and two HS-645 metal geared high powered analog servos. You'll need a battery charger for the RX battery pack. A standard wall charger will work for Hitec but its lacking, an auto peak charger would be best and multi-purpose too.

Do not use alkaline batteries on high torque servos, you want high torque servos for steering and braking. Standard power servos will work but are lacking IMO.
mglavin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 01:18 AM
  #9  
merx9
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

thanks for all the info mglavin seems like it will be an expensive purchase in the end though.. thought id be saving alot of money or something
merx9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 06:36 AM
  #10  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

ORIGINAL: merx9

thanks for all the info mglavin seems like it will be an expensive purchase in the end though.. thought id be saving alot of money or something
Probably not. This radio is $70 at Tower, http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXENN3**&P=0 and you can often get some kind of discount. eBay is a difficult way for beginners to get stuff, it's hard to know if you are getting a good deal.
piper_chuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 04:11 PM
  #11  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

that is a tx only, it is 2 channel. A t-maxx needs 3 channel if you are using reverse.
guver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 09:48 PM
  #12  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question


ORIGINAL: merx9

Ok so i should buy what? if it doesnt work? sorry im kinda new to all of this.... Servos recoever? or what thansk again
Read!

Radio Systems Part 1 - Standard Radios
http://www.rcezine.com/cms/article.php?cat=&id=44

Radio Systems Part 2 - Computer Radios - A Better Investment
http://www.rcezine.com/cms/article.php?cat=&id=65
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 10:17 PM
  #13  
Cyclic Hardover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

Hitecs will work fine too and a Hitec Receiver
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 02:20 AM
  #14  
merx9
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

Guver is that correct i wont be able to use reverse with that remote? If so i can put it in my mt2 or maybe sell it with my yokomo gt-4 we'll see what happens with the bid...

aeajr thanks for the links helpful read
merx9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 07:51 AM
  #15  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter question

I have an e-maxx that uses 3rd channel for 2nd gear, but the t-maxx uses it for reverse I am pretty sure. The t-maxx uses a 3 channel radio from the factory and the 2pl is a 2 channel.
guver is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service