RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Hitec HS-5995 robotics servo, Help!

Reply

Old 08-11-2005, 10:54 AM
  #1  
TomKite
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec HS-5995 robotics servo, Help!

I'm looking at the specs for the HS-5995 and its rated at 416oz of torque at 7.4 volts, but how do you supply it with that voltage without cooking your receiver? Any help? I can't seem to find any info on the net on this yet.
TomKite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 12:25 PM
  #2  
MikeMayberry
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec HS-5995 robotics servo, Help!

That rating is for use in robots only. Hitec strongly recommends a maximum of 6V (5 cells) for use in aircraft.

Mike.
MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 12:30 PM
  #3  
TomKite
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec HS-5995 robotics servo, Help!

The customer of mine asking about it, wants to use it in a robitics application, but controll it via a standard r/c transmitter/receiver
TomKite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 02:31 PM
  #4  
MikeMayberry
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec HS-5995 robotics servo, Help!

The Hitec recievers will handle the voltage.

Mike.
MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 03:11 PM
  #5  
TomKite
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec HS-5995 robotics servo, Help!

Thanks, I got it straightened out with Hitec, I found out their receivers are equipped with BEC, and can also handle more voltage. But since I don't want the receiver to limit the voltage to the servo, I'm going to have to recommend to the customer that they do some fancy footwork with a y connector, and run the signal wire straight from the servo to the receiver. letting the servo and the receiver share a common ground through the battery connection.
TomKite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 01:32 PM
  #6  
coaxial-gyro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bridport, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec HS-5995 robotics servo, Help!


ORIGINAL: TomKite

Thanks, I got it straightened out with Hitec, I found out their receivers are equipped with BEC, and can also handle more voltage. But since I don't want the receiver to limit the voltage to the servo, I'm going to have to recommend to the customer that they do some fancy footwork with a y connector, and run the signal wire straight from the servo to the receiver. letting the servo and the receiver share a common ground through the battery connection.
Thats the conclusion I know of, (I know i'M dead late in this thread [&o]). Can some one drop in a link to a more updated version of the robot in question , as I only know of the InfraRed hitec version .

Hello
coaxial-gyro is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service