RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

9x2 Throttle Cut

Reply

Old 08-27-2005, 04:10 AM
  #1  
Dave03B
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 9x2 Throttle Cut

Hi,

My current throttle cut switch is the back right, 'sprung' switch. I have to keep this switch, pushed forwards in order to shut down my turbine, and have to keep the switch held forwards througout the cool down proceedure. - I don't like this.

Is it possible to re assign throttle cut to another 'unsprung/two way' switch?


Thanks in advance,
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 09:41 AM
  #2  
Dave03B
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9x2 Throttle Cut

anyone?
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 01:43 PM
  #3  
Mac_Man_UK
Senior Member
 
Mac_Man_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Slough, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9x2 Throttle Cut

Hi Dave,

Sorry I forgot to get back to you. A waiting for the Guru to get back of leave, (he's back tomorrow) but i think the answer is going to be that it can't be remapped to another switch. Means that the only wau to get round it is by physically replacing the switch for a non-biased type.

[8D]
Mac_Man_UK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 01:21 PM
  #4  
Dave03B
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9x2 Throttle Cut

Hi,

Thanks for getting back to me. Any word from the Guru? I'm hoping his assessment will be different to yours

Cheers,
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 02:48 PM
  #5  
BillS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,312
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9x2 Throttle Cut

On my Futaba radios throttle kill is always the upper left switch. Don’t remember why I started doing it that way.

Bill
BillS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 02:52 PM
  #6  
Dave03B
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9x2 Throttle Cut

On the 9x2, the throttle cut switch comes pre set on the back right lever which is sprung, and has to remain held to allow the cool down phase of my wren 44 to complete. I let go of the switch on one of the first runs with the engine, and it cancelled the cooling proceedure, which caused a smoking situation!! - which I'd like to avoid in the future!!
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 04:24 PM
  #7  
BillS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,312
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9x2 Throttle Cut

Sorry I don’t know what 9x2 is besides eighteen.

Bill
BillS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 05:01 PM
  #8  
Dave03B
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9x2 Throttle Cut

JR 9X mk 2, very similar to the JR 9303
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 06:14 PM
  #9  
BillS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,312
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9x2 Throttle Cut

Dave,

I have JR transmitters but not the model you mentioned. However I can’t imagine not being able to reassign a switch.

Sorry.

Bill
BillS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 12:31 PM
  #10  
Dave03B
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9x2 Throttle Cut

Mac_Man_UK,

Anything??


Cheers,
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 04:24 AM
  #11  
Mac_Man_UK
Senior Member
 
Mac_Man_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Slough, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9x2 Throttle Cut

Sorry for delay, Have spoken to our transmitter guru and he says to use the Intelligent Throttle Trim.

"The Function Menu List is accessed from the Information Display Screen by pressing the LIST key. From the Function Menu List, rotate the Scroll Bar to highlight the "THRO TRIM" menu choice and click the Scroll Bar. The default is for both systems to be inhibited. The Throttle trim is usually used to cut the engine and with an analogue trim, the lever would be moved from the tick-over position at the centre, to the low position, to cut the engine. When the engine stops, the trim can be returned to the centre ready for the next engine start. This is not possible with normal Digital trims. The PCM9XII has the choice of an Intelligent Throttle Trim or a Throttle Cut function. Please note that only one or the other can be active at a time.
The Throttle Cut facility uses the Trainer switch into stop the engine (while at a low Throttle setting), by moving the Throttle servo to a predetermined point below tick-over.
The Intelligent Throttle Trim facility enables the Throttle trim setting to be remembered so that if the Throttle trim is moved to full low in one operation (as an engine cut procedure), a single upward click of the trim returns the trim to the position existing immediately before the engine cut procedure was enacted.

To set a Throttle Cut position, select INH under THRO Cut by rotating the Scroll Bar and click on it to toggle between activated (ACT) and inhibited (INH). If Intelligent Throttle Trim has been previously activated, it will be inhibited automatically. Select the figure below THRO Cut by rotating the Scroll Bar and click on it to bring up the sub menu. The
highlighting is surrounded by a box to indicate that it is selected. The default cut throttle position is -12% corresponding to a servo position about 25% below the normal Throttle low position. Figures between ± 25% may be entered with -25% corresponding to the absolute minimum servo movement and +25% corresponding to 50% above the normal tick-over
position. Rotate the Scroll Bar to alter the setting. When the required setting is achieved, click the Scroll Bar to exit the sub menu. The clear (CLR) key at the left side of the screen returns the setting point to the default of -12%.
Please note that the position set is an absolute servo position. If the Throttle Digital Trim is set to a value below the set figure, the CUT switch will increase the Throttle position rather than decrease it. Please note that if the Throttle Cut feature is enabled, the Intelligent Trim cannot be activated. If you wish to use Intelligent Throttle Trim, you must first inhibit the Throttle Cut facility.
To enable Intelligent Throttle Trim, select and click on INH below Memory TRIM. Successive clicks will toggle the Intelligent Memory Trim between active (ACT) and inhibited (INH).

To operate the Intelligent Digital Trim, put the Throttle stick in the tick-over position and operate the Throttle Digital Trim lever to full low Throttle in one continuous operation (as an engine cut procedure). A single upward click of the Digital Trim will return the Throttle to the position existing immediately before the engine cut procedure was enacted.
To return to the Function Menu List, press the LIST key or highlight and click on the LST menu choice.

Hope that helps


[8D]
Mac_Man_UK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 01:41 PM
  #12  
Dave03B
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9x2 Throttle Cut

Thanks a lot. Really appreciate your help.
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service