RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Changing crystals (same channel)

Reply

Old 10-25-2005, 08:54 PM
  #1  
mikeeo
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , DE
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Changing crystals (same channel)

Hi All, I was having problems with my one reciever and I thought it was the crystal (it was in storage in the gagrage for 2 yrs). One plane was stored inside while the other was in the garage. The rec. in the garage didn't work at all and is a airtronics on ch. 37 and the one stored inside is an airtronics on ch 37 also. So going down my trouble shooting list I swapped crystals to see if that was the problem and it didn't change anything so I swapped back and now NOTHING works.

I'm confused I thought maybe they go in a certain way? I didn't drop them or slam them around. I pulled the good crystals out turned it around and put it back in and nothing. I'm totally at a loss and suggestions?
mikeeo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 09:07 PM
  #2  
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing crystals (same channel)

they are not directional, so there is no way to put them in backwards. This is strange. Crystals are usually not that sensitive. You can generally handle them, remove them etc and they still work. I would not want to drop one on a hard floor for example, but under routine handling they normally work OK. You probably have an intermittent problem elsewhere in the system.
DMcQuinn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 10:12 PM
  #3  
sfsjkid
 
sfsjkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: fremont, CA
Posts: 592
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing crystals (same channel)

I'm not familiar with Airtronics RX's, but on my Futaba's it is all too easy not to plug the crystal in properly. I've jammed the crystal between the socket and circuit board many times, causing the symtoms you describe
sfsjkid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 01:15 PM
  #4  
mikeeo
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , DE
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing crystals (same channel)

Well I changed the crystals again and still nothing. I even bypassed the switch harness and plugged the battery directly into the RX and then used a brand new servo plugged into channel 1 and nothing. I'm at a total loss here. Is there anything I can check with a meter ??
mikeeo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:32 PM
  #5  
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing crystals (same channel)

there's not much you can check with a meter. you could make sure that you have voltage from the bus of the receiver. basically, if you plug in a servi connector with bare wires from it, you should see the battery voltage (approx 4.8 volts) across the red and black wire. beyond that it is difficult to diagnose much with the receiver. The transmitter probably has a meter that shows that is is getting voltage. beyond this there is not much you can diagnose yourself
DMcQuinn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 05:24 PM
  #6  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,419
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing crystals (same channel)

Here's a long shot if these Rx's are the later 'Z' plug units. The aritronic's Z type plugs (all blue) on the servos along with JR plugs and Hitec (S) plugs which are all compatable Can be plugged in backwards. Even though the plugs have a champhered edge to prevent this its still quite easy to do with any of these brands. If servos are plugged backwards it will cause no damage however nothing will move and give the same symtoms you describe.

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service