RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Terrible range check...please help!

Reply

Old 10-27-2005, 07:50 PM
  #1  
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Terrible range check...please help!

If this has been covered here I apologize, but I couldn't find it.

I have a new plane with a Hitec 555 receiver and four Hitec S-55 mini servos. I had to add extensions to the servos for this plane of 340mm for the tail mounted servos, and 295mm for the aileron servos. I used the same gauge wire, and carefully soldered the connections and used shrink wrap insulation. I carefully twisted the leads I used for the servo extensions for neatness.

I cannot get a good ground range check. It loses the signal and the servos go crazy at less than 20 feet checking with the antenna down. I have tried three different receivers and crystals, and two different transmitters with the same results. It does this even with the motor off and the speed control disconnected. (temporarily using a separate battery to power the receiver.) Could the extensions, or the fact that I twisted the extensions be causing this problem? I am a long time modeler and have never run into this problem, but this is the first time I have used twisted lead extensions. I have tried everything, including doing a ground check with the antenna strung outside the plane to the side, but it loses control and the servos go nuts at less than 20 feet distance. Help???!!

AV8TOR

av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 11:03 PM
  #2  
laryboy
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: wilmington, MA
Posts: 825
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

it is not because you twisted the wires. temporairily remove extensions. if that doesnt work remove servos one by one
laryboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 06:12 AM
  #3  
WilsonFlyer
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

It may seems obvious but I'm assuming you know that the TX is not the problem?

WilsonFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 09:30 AM
  #4  
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

Hi,

Yes, the transmitters are ok. The problem occurs with two different transmitters, and these transmitters work fine with my other planes. I tested them in the same place and at the same time with other planes and no problem. It also occurs with three receivers on two different frequencies.

It has got to be either the servos or the extensions because my trouble shooting process has eliminated all other possibilities. These servos worked fine in another plane before I removed them to build this plane. The only difference is the extensions, or the possibility that I damaged the servos when I soldered the extensions on. I used a pistol type Weller soldering iron. Can this damage servos??? I have lost two days working this problem and can't figure it out. I'm hoping someone can help. I don't have any other HS-55 servos to try, and I live 220 miles from the nearest hobby shop!

Thanks,
AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 11:44 PM
  #5  
weedy-burton
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

Hi,

What plane have you got and are there any carbon rods in it. Im having an almost identical problem with a foamy I just put together.I cant put the aerial any where near the plane or it glitches wildly from any more than about 8 feet away,If I hold the aerial up away from the plane its perfect.I too have tried multiple receivers (all brands) two different TX's, four sets of crystals, three different modulators and eliminating other components one by one. I dont know if there are different grades of carbon or not and if some interfere more than others or not but a friend has a shocky with carbon all over it and his aerial 5mm away from a carbon control rod with no probs. I think next I'll try a new plane, Ive replaced everything else[:@]

Cheers

Weedy
weedy-burton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 11:45 PM
  #6  
weedy-burton
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

My plane is a ThunderTiger Expo 3d

Cheers

Weedy
weedy-burton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2005, 05:13 AM
  #7  
mikenlapaz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: La Paz BCS, MEXICO
Posts: 1,986
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

How do they work removed from the plane? Just thought it might be a proximity thing to carbon rod or whatever.

Got a friend with a Raptor that is giving him fits with similar problem. Keep us informed.
mikenlapaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2005, 07:47 AM
  #8  
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

After more than three days of testing on and off, I'm getting pretty frustrated. The airplane is a Katana Mini, and yes it does have carbon fiber. I'm thinking my long servo leads and the carbon fiber are working together to reduce the range now, and that I have an interference problem here at my house and also at one of the closer in flying fields my student and I go to. I'm leaving shortly to test and fly at a beach well out of town where they won't be any interference. We'll see what happens!! Wish me luck...

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 11:32 AM
  #9  
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

Well, I had decided that my problem had to be local interference basically, but that's not the case. I flew yesterday from a very isolated spot miles away from civilization with no electric lines, cell phone service, radio signals, towers, etc. Same problem; severe servo twitching at less then 20 feet, followed by the servos locking at their extremes and no control at all at about 25 feet range check. It has got to be the carbon fiber in this plane. To recap: this is happening with two different transmitters, and three different receivers on two different channels. I finally got a somewhat acceptable range check by stringing the antenna completely outside the plane running along the wing. I stuck the antenna there with tape and flew the plane with no further problems.

The good news is... This is a super great airplane!! Katana Mini. Wow. I love it!! It's even better than my 72" wingspan GSP Katana gasser!

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 12:31 PM
  #10  
Norseman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bodoe, NORWAY
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

What kind of transmitter do you have? I know the Hitec Eclipse does lousy range checks, but they work all right with the antenna extended.


Steinar
Norseman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 04:35 PM
  #11  
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

Futaba 6XAS + Futaba 7CAP transmitters. Hitec Supreme 8, Hitec 555, and Hitec HS4-0mg receivers.

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 03:47 PM
  #12  
micp
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 198
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

Glad to hear that you like the Katana Mini. I am putting one together and can't wait to fly it.

Tom
micp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 10:11 AM
  #13  
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Terrible range check...please help!

I can't really describe how much I like this plane. I don't do "3D" flying, but I love normal aerobatics and hardly fly straight and level for more than a few seconds at a time. This plane does all the maneuvers so easily and gracefully it's hard to believe. It gives you a lot of confidence right from the start. It took me about 5 seconds to become completely comfortable with this plane and do low level aerobatics.

The owner of Atlanta Hobbies has advised me that there is carbon fiber in the aft fuselage. So when I slid a plastic tube inside the fuselage and slid my antenna into that, the antenna was very close to if not touching, and surrounded by, carbon fiber. With the antenna run immediately outside the plane from the receiver, and strung back to the lower part of the tailskid everything is fine.

Enjoy the Katana Mini !!

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service