RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

6exa futaba transmitter

Reply

Old 11-03-2005, 05:30 PM
  #1  
CRAZYRYAN
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Houston , TX
Posts: 942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 6exa futaba transmitter

i have this transmitter and have the original battery im worried about cell memory since i haven't flown for about 8 months ago is it time for it to be replaced? or can i drain it all and recharge it? it is a 4.8 600 or so mah battery i believe thanks
CRAZYRYAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 11:56 PM
  #2  
goatboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 6exa futaba transmitter

How old was the battery before you put it away? If you have a cycler try discharging and charging it 3 or 4 times and check its capacity on each cycle. I have the same transmitter and have been useing the same battery for over a year now. But when in doubt replace it. Its cheaper than a new plane.
goatboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 04:59 PM
  #3  
iaclmac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Red Oak, IA
Posts: 262
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 6exa futaba transmitter

In answer to your question... a cycler is probably the answer to your question. However, a metal-hydride battery is a better long term answer as those do not built up a memory like the old ni-cads.
iaclmac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 01:06 PM
  #4  
redfox435cat
Senior Member
 
redfox435cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lompoc , CA
Posts: 1,469
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 6exa futaba transmitter

A cycler is the only definitive answer to this. I've had batterys last 5 yrs of normal use other lasted 6 months. The only way to say is to put it on a cycler and have it calculate the acual capacity of the battery. If you just don't want to buy one then get a new battery and as said before go fore a NiMh. Those battery work very well in low load situations like Tx and Rx with just servos
redfox435cat is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service