RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Airtronics radio question

Reply

Old 11-04-2005, 03:04 PM
  #1  
bdtracing
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
bdtracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wichita , KS
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Airtronics radio question

Today I found a excellent deal on a Airtronics VG6DR 6 channel system so i bought it. It has the servos radio reciver and everything with it. I dont know much about this radio, I have a Airtronics VG 400 that uses the new Z style servos and reciver. I am currious as to if i could use my vg 400 radio with this vg6dr reciver. Its not a big deal if i can but i was just currious. I know that the VG6DR uses the old style servos and reciver. Thanks
bdtracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 08:50 PM
  #2  
CP140
Senior Member
 
CP140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 801
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics radio question

Should work OK... has to be on the same channel of course... the difference between the old (black) receiver and the new (blue) Z receiver is the arrangement of the pins on the servo plugs and the shape of the plug itself.
CP140 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 03:21 AM
  #3  
PinoyPinay
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics radio question

CP140, what do you mean about the arrangements of the pins on the z-connectors, i know the pins are signal, positive, and negative. if you swap the positive and negative on the z connectors does this mean you are doing a reverse servo switching. Thanks for your input.
PinoyPinay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 09:10 AM
  #4  
pault
Senior Member
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: tishomingo, OK
Posts: 233
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics radio question

hello.....airtronics switched to the industry standard with their servo plugs....the old style would only work with airtronics recievers...the new z servo plugs will now plug into any reciever....thanks.....pault
pault is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 09:37 PM
  #5  
CP140
Senior Member
 
CP140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 801
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics radio question

The +ve/-ve/signal wires are in a different sequence on the two types of receivers (see the picture in this link)

http://www.airtronics.net/picture_shows_the_pin.htm

Also, the black servo connectors are a different shape than the blue servo connectors... the black ones have 3 little ridges on one side of them.
CP140 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service