RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Hitec servo bad out of the box?

Reply

Old 11-04-2005, 04:40 PM
  #1  
More HP
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
More HP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: north bend, OR
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec servo bad out of the box?

I grabbed a new hs-635HB servo out of my servo drawer the other day to install in a plane. Have no idea when I bought it or where for that matter, so I probably wont meet the warranty requirements for a direct replacement.

I installed it in the rudder position, turned all the radio gear on twice to center things and get the end points adjusted, the servo in question worked for those two times and then wont work since.

I opened it up right away to see if a wire had come loose, didn't see anything obvious, so I replaced the J connector thinking that must be it, no deal there either.

I'm not much of a servo mechanic or anything, any ideas on what to test or try next?

More HP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 05:16 PM
  #2  
TLH101
My Feedback: (90)
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

Have you tried to contact HiTec?
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 05:21 PM
  #3  
More HP
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
More HP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: north bend, OR
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

Not yet, haven't had the chance, just wondered if there was something easy I could check so I don't have to go through the trouble of sending it in and waiting. Like I mentioned, I can't find the receipt either, my fault on that one, I didn't think I'd have to worry about hitec products!
More HP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 05:23 PM
  #4  
More HP
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
More HP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: north bend, OR
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

What's got me worried now is all the 6 or 7 other 635HB's I have in my other models!
More HP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 05:36 PM
  #5  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

ORIGINAL: More HP

What's got me worried now is all the 6 or 7 other 635HB's I have in my other models!
There are going to be occasional defects. Doesn't necessarily mean every other one in the world is also bad.
piper_chuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 08:05 PM
  #6  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

Send the servo to Hitec with a note on the history and what you experienced. More likely than not Hitec Service will replace the servo free of charge.
mglavin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 01:02 AM
  #7  
More HP
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
More HP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: north bend, OR
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

I hear you Chuck, I'm trying not to think that way! Hitec isn't one of those fly-by-night operations, I'm going to hang in there.....

I was just wondering if anyone out there had something in mind I could check or test myself and get by this without going through the snail mail channels. I've got precious little time to get planes in shape to fly, and seems like even less time to even fly at all. Guess we're all here trying to maximize the "fun time" aren't we!
More HP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 07:09 AM
  #8  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

If this was your last spare servo, you're in a world of hurt. Get thyself to Tower, Servo City, eBay, or where ever you like to shop and order up another half dozen! Once those are on the way send the bad one in to Hitec.
piper_chuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 02:20 PM
  #9  
Turk1
 
Turk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Istanbul, TURKEY
Posts: 1,084
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

Did you check that servo on another posiiton at receiver.Maybe not the servo fault but some weird Tx. confusion.
Turk1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 11:28 PM
  #10  
More HP
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
More HP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: north bend, OR
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

Hi turk, yeah I did, and the other servos worked on the rudder channel as well so that ruled out a rx problem. I even tried another receiver just for the heck of it, no go. I should get a chance to send it in this week.
More HP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 06:16 AM
  #11  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

I had that happen to an 8411 that I purchased.
I sent it in and got it returned working.
Don't know if it was new or repaired, but it worked.

Send it in to Hitec.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 09:21 AM
  #12  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,417
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

ORIGINAL: More HP

I'm not much of a servo mechanic or anything, any ideas on what to test or try next?


With this in mind as others have said you are wasting time send it in, It will be no problem with Hitec for a replacement.

Also as others have said you need spares. Not having any spares at home, is akin to going to the field without a spare glowplug or prop.

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 09:43 AM
  #13  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

You telling me I should have a spare propeller when I go to the field?
Those things are $70 a piece. Geez, I guess I need to order one today! <LOL> (Just Kidding)

ORIGINAL: JohnBuckner

Also as others have said you need spares. Not having any spares at home, is akin to going to the field without a spare glowplug or prop.

John
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 12:13 PM
  #14  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,417
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

Good heavens, seventy bucks yup time for a priority adjustment

Team Geritol
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 01:05 PM
  #15  
mike gruenwald
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: arvada, CO
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

ever noticed how all the really good pilots you read about never use hitec?
mike gruenwald is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 01:58 PM
  #16  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,417
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

Mike since the post says your comment is in reply to me and since I,ve nothing to sell and am not one of the "Really Good Pilots" nor is it likely that you will ever read about me, that fortunately opens up the door to far more options for my benefit. Unlike the those gentlemen who by contractual obligation are forced to only say good things about brand W, X,Y or Z, take your pick.

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 07:39 PM
  #17  
rcflyer52
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

I just had a prob with retract servos. Hi-Tec replaced both, no questions. Got the new ones in about 2 weeks. I've used Hi=Tecs several times with no problem. Don't know what kind of flyer that makes me, but then again I don't care. I enjoy myself.
rcflyer52 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 11:04 AM
  #18  
SoCalSal
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: spring valley , CA
Posts: 1,294
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

What does a "really good pilot use" And better yet what is a really good pilot? The rason I want to know is that I want to be a really good pilot, but I need to know what servos they use.

SoCalSal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 11:39 AM
  #19  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo bad out of the box?

ORIGINAL: SoCalSal

What does a "really good pilot use" And better yet what is a really good pilot? The rason I want to know is that I want to be a really good pilot, but I need to know what servos they use.
Whatever happens to be in the plane they are flying. A "really" good pilot can look "really" good even with so-so servos.
piper_chuck is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service