RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

RX and TX compatability

Reply

Old 11-06-2005, 12:30 PM
  #1  
Airdale CPO
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 131
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RX and TX compatability

I have a Futaba 9CAP TX and I am planning to use a Hitec Supreme RX. I know that they will work together because of shifts but my question is that in the Hitec manual, certain channels are proportional and non-proportional. Now is that only because of what the Hitec TX transmits to the RX that makes the channels function that way? So when I use the 9CAP, I should have full range of the Futaba TX with the Hitec RX and all of the TX's functions?

Hope I made sense.
Airdale CPO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 01:52 PM
  #2  
HighPlains
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Over da rainbow, KS
Posts: 5,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RX and TX compatability

Yes, yes.
HighPlains is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 02:52 PM
  #3  
sbd-5
Banned
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: suncook, NH
Posts: 391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RX and TX compatability

yes an example of non porpotional channel is the retract channel.it is either down or up even ther servo is not a porptional servo if it is a retract servo.
sbd-5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 07:06 PM
  #4  
2slow2matter
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Springtown, TX
Posts: 2,424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RX and TX compatability

proportionality and channel assignment lie completely withing the radio--not the receiver. The receiver simply relays the message from the radio to the appropriate channel. This is why rx's have channel numbers, and not control surfaces written on them. because with some radios, channel one is throttle, while with others it is aileron, and so on. The RX doesn't care what is hooked to that channel--that is the function of the radio. Just make sure the TX and RX are compatible (shift selection) and all will be ok.
2slow2matter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 09:35 PM
  #5  
Airdale CPO
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 131
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RX and TX compatability

2slow2matter,

That is exactly the answer I was looking for and was thinking of the same thing. I just needed a few personnel to tell me that my thoughts were correct. Both Futaba and Hitec are negitive shift.

I also want to thank HighPlains and sbd-5 for there replys as well.

Brian
Airdale CPO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 09:08 AM
  #6  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RX and TX compatability

The only drawback is that unless your using a Futaba pcm reciever you effectively have an 8 channel setup. At that, the 9th channel can only be an off/on toggle with no mixing.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 01:10 PM
  #7  
Turk1
 
Turk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Istanbul, TURKEY
Posts: 1,084
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RX and TX compatability

Gentlemen,I have a similiar question,pls. forgive me if some dumb question but Im from a good distance and no chance to fix an error afterwards.
I have a Futaba 7 Cap Pcm /Ppm Tx. I need a receiver and servos.Can I have Hitec RCD 3800 7-Channel DC shift selectable receiver and Hitec servos without a problem?
Turk1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 02:55 PM
  #8  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,419
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RX and TX compatability

Turk its a good question. Yes that flight pack described by you will work fine. The modulation type in your Tx must be set for PPM. If your Tx was obtained through the north American market you would set the Rx's modulation shift for negative shift. If your Tx was obtained through other world markets its may possibly be a positive shift version of Futaba and in that case you would set the Rx for positive shift.

Enjoy

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 03:06 PM
  #9  
Turk1
 
Turk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Istanbul, TURKEY
Posts: 1,084
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RX and TX compatability

Thank you John.Really helped so much.Yes my Tx is U.S.origin.You say that Hitec receiver is better than original R127DF receiver including in radio kit that is PCM mode.As far as I know PPM mode is safer to use than PCM system.
Do you have any opinion on Futaba S3004 st.servos? any neg or pos. experience?
Thank you again
Turk1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 03:48 PM
  #10  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,419
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RX and TX compatability

Turk the reason I said your Tx will have be set for PPM is that the Hitec Rx you mentioned is a PPM Rx. Also with all four of the major brand PCM systems there is no interbrand compatability with any of them. This means to use a PCM Rx with your Futaba Tx then you must use a Futaba PCM Rx.

John

In regards which is safer or better PCM or PPM, That will open a huge can of worms and I won't go there other than to say my total Rx count is now around 60 and I,ve no need to pay double price for pcm Rx's.
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 04:08 PM
  #11  
Turk1
 
Turk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Istanbul, TURKEY
Posts: 1,084
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RX and TX compatability

Thank you very much John.
Turk1 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service