RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

another newbie question

Reply

Old 11-08-2005, 09:20 PM
  #1  
bil2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dade City, FL
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default another newbie question

Does a split servo wire or dual servo wire allow one to direct 2 servos off one receiver? Like for ailerons with 2 servos, instead of 1 servo with 2 pushrods. Thanks.
bil2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 09:24 PM
  #2  
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: another newbie question

yes, you are exactly correct. sometimes called a "Y" cable.
DMcQuinn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 10:36 AM
  #3  
bil2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dade City, FL
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: another newbie question

And thanks again. I have a plane with the single servo operating the ailerons, but wasn't sure what I need to build a kit, if ever I get up the nerve.
bil2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 10:50 AM
  #4  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: another newbie question

If you have a computer radio, there is an alternative to the y-cable. Computer radios have the ability to slave one channel to another. Using this technology you could plug one servo into the aileron channel and another into channel 6 (or another available channel). You would then go into the transmitter setup and define channel 6 to be slaved to the aileron channel. Once this is done, the transmitter sends the appropriate signal to both the aileron channel and channel 6 when you move the aileron control.
piper_chuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 12:32 PM
  #5  
bil2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dade City, FL
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: another newbie question

Oh, Lordie! I'm just getting my feet wet - I've got a Futaba Conquest I bought used (ch. 32) and the tx's that came with a couple of cheapo RTFs. Computer radio is far in the future for me, I'm afraid. Besides, for a few bucks less I can just buy a Y harness! Thanks, tho, I'm always eager to learn (the hazard of being an ex-teacher, among things). Bil
bil2 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service