RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Unusual range problem

Reply

Old 11-14-2005, 06:33 PM
  #1  
Langster
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Langster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unusual range problem

Hi All,

I have a 9x JR Tx and a 9 channel Rx. I have recently put the gear into an 80" Cap 232. When I am range checking with the aerial down an unusual thing happens. Although all other channels are OK for range even with the DA-50 running, at 2/3 of the normal range distance (with the aerial down) the elevator servos respond to controls with a delay. That is, one may operate OK but the other lags behind but still operates.

My only theory is that I am using regulated 6v for this plane and this may be too much for the Rx? I will reduce the voltage today and check again but had to quit last night due to fading light.

Any other thoughts?

Lang

Langster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 07:43 AM
  #2  
Langster
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Langster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Unusual range problem

Well I reduced the regulated voltage from 6.0V to 5.7V and this seems to have greatly improved the problem I had with losing the synchronisation of the elevator servos on my Cap when range checking. I don't know why this improvement would have occured? It seems as though I could get another 20 paces before the elevators lost their synch after I dropped the voltage.

Anyone have ideas for this improvement in range?

Thanks

Lang
Langster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 11:02 AM
  #3  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Unusual range problem

You need to provide more information.
If you are using an FM (not PCM) receiver and IF you are have one of the elevator servos slaved to the elevator channel using say channel 6 output, it may be caused by interference that hits only the slaved channel. This is because channel six is further down the chain and more prone to be interfered with than channel two
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 05:00 PM
  #4  
Langster
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Langster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Unusual range problem

Thanks for your feedback dirtybird.

I am using SPCM and using aux 2 as the slave for the dual servo elevator. I have the Tx set up as Wings: Flaperon with V-tail inhibited. I am also using model 20 as the model number (1-20 available). Anything else that might be helpful?
Langster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 10:14 PM
  #5  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Unusual range problem

With PCM you just blew my theory. The only other thing I could think of is a bad servo
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2005, 09:53 AM
  #6  
j.duncker
My Feedback: (2)
 
j.duncker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sailing in the Eastern Caribbean
Posts: 4,047
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Unusual range problem

Try running 4.8 volts and see what happens.

I may be wrong but I think JR servos do not like 6 volts.
j.duncker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2005, 01:36 PM
  #7  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Unusual range problem

Sounds more like some poor connections or extensions that have to little cross sectional area. Try larger gauge wires and soldered connections (no extensions with connectors).
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 01:30 AM
  #8  
Langster
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Langster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Unusual range problem

Thanks for the replies. I reduced the voltage to 5.7V from 6.0V and this has resulted in the range being 20% better. I was also informed that with PCM the channel that I was using for the slave elevator servo would take longer to decode so in fact this was indicating that the Tx was almost out of range. I accepted the 20% improvement with the voltage reduction and have flown the Cap 232 with no glitches or range problems.

Cheers

Lang

Langster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 11:28 AM
  #9  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Unusual range problem

The receiver has a built in voltage regulator. Changing the applied voltage should not effect the range. If I were you I would send the receiver to the manufacturer and explain your problem. Something is wrong.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service