RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Engine micro servo mounted on firewall?

Reply

Old 11-21-2005, 06:19 PM
  #1  
dragos_cscc
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 95
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Engine micro servo mounted on firewall?

Need some feedback, would engine oil or vibration compromise its operation? Anybody running this setup?

Thanks

D
dragos_cscc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 06:56 PM
  #2  
da Rock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine micro servo mounted on firewall?

would engine oil or vibration compromise its operation?
Not automatically.

Servos are fairly sturdy things. It's not a given that the firewall is going to expose the servo to any more or less vibration than other places in the a/c. Truth is, you need to balance your prop and build in a secure engine mount and reduce vibration successfully for the good of the a/c and if done properly, the firewall isn't going to be bad for vibration anymore than anywhere else would be.

And they're not advertised as fuelproof, but they're pretty good about being pretty much buttoned up. And there are waterproof ones available. All of them have exterior materials that're usually very resistant to fuel. So take a look at your other models. Are the insides of their cowlings fuel soaked? marked with fuel spots? what? Make your decision about how much fuel the servo will see from that.

I've never needed to put a servo that far up front, but wouldn't worry a bit about it on my models. And if I ever needed to, I'd do it in a heartbeat. And if you're still worried about it, put a simple bulkhead around it. Or put just a couple of "walls" "around" it. I've been filling my cowl areas with "pressure bulkhead" for years to route the cooling air past the engines and that offers good opportunity for shielding. That is, if you really think shielding the servo is needed.

I'd say the only drawback to it would actually be in reaching your rx with the servo connection. Seems that'd be the biggest problem with the idea.
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 10:21 PM
  #3  
Edge 540
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: -, IN
Posts: 326
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine micro servo mounted on firewall?

If the fuselage is stiff, the tail might actually see more vibration than a firewall. Longer lever arm....it might be amplified. If it is vibrating back and forth x amount, the tail (say 5 feet away) is getting even more. Not sure if this is true, but it seems probable to me.
Edge  540 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 08:10 AM
  #4  
j.duncker
My Feedback: (2)
 
j.duncker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sailing in the Eastern Caribbean
Posts: 4,047
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine micro servo mounted on firewall?

Have not had a problem so far with 2 strokes. In some cases the servos have come out dripping with oil but have still worked.

If it is a 4st the in cowl temps are likely to cause problems. Servo will drift then stop working.
j.duncker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 09:34 AM
  #5  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine micro servo mounted on firewall?


ORIGINAL: dragos_cscc

Need some feedback, would engine oil or vibration compromise its operation? Anybody running this setup?

Thanks

D
It won't do it any good. It also is hot in there. Why not put it back in a less hostile environment?
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 11:38 AM
  #6  
dragos_cscc
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 95
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine micro servo mounted on firewall?

Well I'm just trying to make some room for a camera in there somewhere. Want the camera over the CG so when its removed I wont have to add weight for ballance. Moving the throttle servo up front and the elevator/rudder servos on the tail kinda made sense. And yes it will be a 4stroke 1.20 up front.
dragos_cscc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 02:39 PM
  #7  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Engine micro servo mounted on firewall?

If in doubt, gety a servo made for RC cars and boats.
They are sealed better than aircraft servos.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service