Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

My first crash :(

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2005, 02:31 PM
acerola

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My first crash :(

I have been flying my NexStar for a couple of months now. I just bought new batteries for it, 2700mAh Rx and 2500mAh for Tx, NiMH, Sanyo, from NoBS. I was using them for the first time.

It was all fine in the beginning. But in the 4th flight, short after the takeoff, the throttle wouldn't respond. I figured that the engine died and started to bring the plane back to the runway. When it got close, I noticed that the engine was still on. I pulled the throttle all the way back and forward again, and it went up a little. The other commands seemed fine.

I was making the final turn before landing when I lost elevator control. The plane crashed in the grass. Since it was slow and low, only some damage to the landing gear and lots of dirt. When I got close to it, I tested all the controls and they were fine.

When I got home, I cycled both batteries, discharging at 0.5A. They yield over 2000mAh each.

I was wondering: could this have been caused by the batteries? Or it was simple interference? I have experienced interference before, but just for some seconds. This one was quite long.
Old 11-21-2005, 11:38 PM
ghendrix01
My Feedback: (1)

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: My first crash :(

Just one question. Are you using the charger that came with the radio system to charge the batteries? If so and the radio equipment came with the usual 600 or 700mAH nicad batteries, your batteries were probably not completely charged.

Some people on this site say that you just need to charge the higher capacity batteries for a longer time, in your case that would be a minimum of 5 days.