RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

More Power to Servo !!

Reply

Old 11-22-2005, 04:25 PM
  #1  
TwinForced
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Monticello, FL
Posts: 179
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default More Power to Servo !!

Ok guys I have look'd but cant find any info on how to give my servo more volts ? Its run off of the RX BEC set up now. I would like to give it some more volts, HOW ? Thanks.
TwinForced is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 06:02 PM
  #2  
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: More Power to Servo !!

There are three wires going into every servo (black, red, and signal). You can run servo at higher voltages than the BEC puts out. At some point the servo will fail, of course. Generally servos that are advertised to run at 4.8 volts will run fine at 6.0 volts. I have heard of some running at 10 volts.

To make this happen, you only use two wires from the BEC to the receiver (black and signal). you run two wires from a higher voltage battery and use wires black and red. so the servo gets its voltage from the higher voltage source, but gets its signal from the BEC.
DMcQuinn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 07:36 PM
  #3  
TwinForced
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Monticello, FL
Posts: 179
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: More Power to Servo !!

Thank you, I want to have a 7.2V pack just for the servo.
TwinForced is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 10:05 AM
  #4  
pettit
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: More Power to Servo !!

I'll bet you didn't know that just about all servos are manufactured with a precise amount of special smoke inside the case that determines proper operation.

Let any of this special smoke out of the case and the servo stops working.

With 7.2 volts on the servo. you'll let a LOT of smoke out and the servo will stop working almost immediately.

Why not just use a more powerful servo? If you have a 50 oz-in servo, use a 100 oz-in one.

They are usually in the same size case, and they are probably filled with the same type of smoke.

At BEC voltage, all that smoke will stay in the case and the servo will indeed have more "power".
pettit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 10:14 AM
  #5  
TwinForced
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Monticello, FL
Posts: 179
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: More Power to Servo !!

You are very right, but I have a bigger one on order, just I want to mess with some of my older servo's in the mean time.
TwinForced is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 10:25 AM
  #6  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: More Power to Servo !!

Most servos will operate at higher voltage levels, the life expectancy is simply short lived as the motors degrade early on in life.
mglavin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2005, 09:22 PM
  #7  
LarryC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brookland, AR
Posts: 406
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: More Power to Servo !!

Bad thing about the magic smoke; once it comes out, you can't get it to go back in!

Larry
LarryC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 01:40 PM
  #8  
TwinForced
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Monticello, FL
Posts: 179
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: More Power to Servo !!

Well its working on 7.2V for now ! Lets see just for how long ? Its a HiTec HS 645 MG.
TwinForced is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 09:57 PM
  #9  
RTK
My Feedback: (1)
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Left Coast , CA
Posts: 4,890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: More Power to Servo !!

Twin---There has been a couple of guy's running giant scale with no regs at that voltage with good luck so far. In fact I am going to try it on my next project. Keep us posted as to how it works for you.
RTK is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service