RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Switch Layout for 14MZ

Reply

Old 11-30-2005, 10:42 AM
  #1  
bluestratos
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lynden, WA
Posts: 566
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Switch Layout for 14MZ

When I bought my 14mz I had only just gotten back into the hobby so I placed the various fuctions (ie throttle cut, flaps, dual rates etc..) to any switch location that I wanted. I realize now that before I get too many models into the radio I should make sure the switch locations standardized so others can fly with my radio and not become confused. Could someone plz tell me which switch should do what for a more standardized layout.

Best regards,

Randy
bluestratos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 10:15 AM
  #2  
bluestratos
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lynden, WA
Posts: 566
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Switch Layout for 14MZ

Anyone? Sure could use help on this one..
bluestratos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 06:46 PM
  #3  
BQuartucy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Banning, CA
Posts: 158
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Switch Layout for 14MZ

SWA Elevator triple rate
SWB Rudder triple rate
SWC Flaps,spoilers
SWD Aileron triple rate
SWE Landing Gear
SWF Engine Kill or Trainer
SWG Couple rudder to aileron
SWH Your Choice
BQuartucy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 04:30 PM
  #4  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Switch Layout for 14MZ

One of the coolest things about a radio like the 14MZ is that I can put switches where I want them, not where the radio maker thinks they should be. I can even change from 3-position to 2-position, and move them around physically. I have a 14MZAP that I fly gliders, helis and giant scale with. Here's the layout I use:

Giant Scale Aerobatic planes.

SB (3-position above throttle) = Normal/snap/spin flight conditions
SH = engine kill (optical kill switch)
Throttle trim on the left slider (closest to stick)
Timer = CD in switch mode

Thermal duration gliders:

SB - launch/thermal/cruise flight conditions
SE - Aileron to flap mixing (flaperons)
SA - aileron to rudder coupling ON/OFF
Timer = CD in switch mode

Helicopters:

SB - Normal/Idle up-1/Idle-up2 flight conditions
SC (2-position switch) - Throttle hold (autorotations)
SH - Throttle kill
SE - Governor master ON/OFF
Throttle trim on the left slider (closest to stick)
Timer = CD in switch mode

Crossed trims for Elevator on everything. T3 control Elevator trim. Much easier to play with without letting go of the right stick.


Notice a couple of things. First, I keep my switches to a minimum. The last thing you want to be doing is scurrying for a switch in an emergency. I use flight conditions rather than dual rates.

Second - notice that I keep things logically consistent from aircraft type to type. The same switch does flight conditions in all 3 types of aircraft. The same switch is used for engine kill, etc. In an emergency I don't have to think about what type of A/C I'm flying since the switches are the same.

In fact this flexibility is one of the things I love most about the 14.
Silent-AV8R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 11:44 AM
  #5  
Bax
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 19,482
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Switch Layout for 14MZ

There really are no "standard" switch positions. Each modeler determines what layout suits them. Some systems with less capability have certain functions "hard-coded" to particular switches. Again, there is no 'standard' layout.
Bax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 02:51 PM
  #6  
sirrom
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 997
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Switch Layout for 14MZ

ORIGINAL: bluestratos

When I bought my 14mz I had only just gotten back into the hobby so I placed the various fuctions (ie throttle cut, flaps, dual rates etc..) to any switch location that I wanted. I realize now that before I get too many models into the radio I should make sure the switch locations standardized so others can fly with my radio and not become confused. Could someone plz tell me which switch should do what for a more standardized layout.

Best regards,

Randy
Randy,
That is kind of the point of the futaba radios and their switch assignments. YOU can customize them to what you want instead of having them to what the manufacturer says you should have. I know I standardize all my models the way I like them. Cutoff switch is in the same place, all my high and low rate switches are all the same, but they are where I like them. My setup may be different than yours, and yours different from the next guy and so on, but there really is not a standard way to setup your radio. Just make sure if you let someone fly your plane you are there with them so you can flip the switches for them if they need it.


Patrick
sirrom is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service