RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Programming Hitec servos

Reply

Old 12-02-2005, 06:37 PM
  #1  
suitcase
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
suitcase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Wingina, VA
Posts: 983
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Programming Hitec servos

Is it necessary to program new digital servos? I recently crashed the maiden flight and I was using all new RX and digital servos. What exactly are you programming into them anyway? I have the HS-6635 and HS-6645 and was using the Slim something or other.
suitcase is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 07:22 PM
  #2  
exeter_acres
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Programming Hitec servos

no programming necessary...where it can come in handy is when there are multiple servos on the same surface . ie: giant scale ailerons w/ 3 or 4 servos and elevators with 2 servos per half.... or multiple ganged servos for the rudder..

programming sets the deadband and is used to equalize throws of servos so they are better matched..... etc. etc.
exeter_acres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 07:32 PM
  #3  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Programming Hitec servos

If you provide specific information on your model and set-up we maybe able to point out a problem or not...
mglavin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 07:12 AM
  #4  
suitcase
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
suitcase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Wingina, VA
Posts: 983
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Programming Hitec servos

I didn't have a giant scale airplane at all. I was just the VF Extra 300. I ordered the flight pack from Servo City. I used four HS 6635 which had 69 in/oz, and the digital 475 for the throttle. It came with the Super Slim RX which is now discontinued according to Hitec. The RX was broken in the crash so I couldn't test to see if it caused the wreck. I sent it back and had to get the Supreme 8 ch. to replace it. They couldn't tell me if it was bad before the crash either. I've tested all the servos which are still connected to the control surfaces using a 8ch Futaba receiver and they all work on the bench. The plane rolled just after take off and while I had "some" control, it continued to do things on it's own till it came down. Basicly, it kept rolling each time I corrected it. All I found was a small place on the wire going to the RX where the insulation was cut. VERY small cut and not into the wire itself. The RX was mounted forward of the servos and the antenna ran between them and out the top behind the canopy and to the top of the rudder. There was no one else there at the field. I range checked it at home with the engine running "YS 110". It was ok. I didn't range check it at the field again. "dumb" That's about all I can think of.
suitcase is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service