RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Gyro in an Airplane

Reply

Old 12-08-2005, 02:13 PM
  #1  
dyrbr_d
Member
Thread Starter
 
dyrbr_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toledo, OH,
Posts: 96
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Gyro in an Airplane

Looking to build a plane to teach others to learn, I want to add gyros to help stabilize the plane and be able to turn them down slowly as the pilot gets better. Would like the plane to be as stable or more stable than a trainer, but be able to turn down the sensitivity on the gyros and wake the plane up a little. I do not know anything about gyros.


Radio - futaba 9cap
3 gyros ??? Yaw, Pitch, Roll
Two servo's for ailerons... does this mean GYA351 if I can find one?

I would like to stick with Futaba, but would like to switch to another manufacturer if they offer something superior for less money. I would also like to run my own digital servo's.

Steve
dyrbr_d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 03:27 PM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,389
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gyro in an Airplane

279 for a 2 axis futaba gyro. You'd end up with the gyros costing more than a plane and engine.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 03:40 PM
  #3  
zain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: richmondbc, CANADA
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gyro in an Airplane

You are better off buying the nexstar by hobbicco. i think it comes with a stability control device also known as pilot assistant in it. What it does is it self levels it self the moment you let go of the control, the model can be any configure and will self recover.

i think tower sells this devise by itself.

Good luck
Zain
zain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 04:16 PM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,389
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gyro in an Airplane

You can purchase it included in a 4 channel reciever for around 100 bucks.

Any instructor that gets shown a Nexstar immediately disables that thing.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 05:35 PM
  #5  
dyrbr_d
Member
Thread Starter
 
dyrbr_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toledo, OH,
Posts: 96
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gyro in an Airplane

A good gyro setup is way better than the cheap pilot assist and nextstar systems on the market. I know the pilot assist setup is not anything like a gyro and can be easily confused by where the horizon is. I was wondering what the best setup would be for the gyros seeings how there is not too much info on the web, just comments like they are expensive and the pro's do not use them... well 99% of the people that fly are not professional. And everything in RC is expensive.
dyrbr_d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 06:30 PM
  #6  
smokingcrater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Up north, ND
Posts: 2,353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gyro in an Airplane

you might be misunderstanding a gyro a little... a gyro doesn't correct ANY user input. it simply corrects for external inputs, such as wind. as a beginner you won't want to fly in much wind anyway, to idealy the gyro won't do anything other then add $$$ to the crash...

the various autoflight devices out there DO work fairly well when set up correctly, yeah most instructors probably disable them instantly, but that doesn't reflect on the device, more like the instructor no wanting to be replaced, or have to fight the plane in an unfamilar situation.
smokingcrater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 07:57 PM
  #7  
dyrbr_d
Member
Thread Starter
 
dyrbr_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toledo, OH,
Posts: 96
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gyro in an Airplane

you are correct, a gyro does not correct user input. But neither does a trainer airplane... If you push up and are inverted on a trainer (I know hard to do with a trainer) just because the plane is a trainer does not mean it will not let you. A gyro will let you do anything you want as long as you are touching the sticks. I was looking what a good setup would be when the sticks are centered.
dyrbr_d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 10:15 AM
  #8  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,389
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gyro in an Airplane

But if the sticks were centered and the plane was pointing at the ground its still going to fly straight, straight into the ground. If you want something correcting get a co-pilot, I really don't think you understand how a gyro works and what its uses are in an airplane.

Many scale folks put them on the rudder channel to help with ground handling.

3D folks put them on the elevator/rudder to help them make minute corrections while hovering and high alpha manuvers buy they really just correct unwanted movement, they have no sense of the direction or attitude of the aircraft.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:30 PM
  #9  
zain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: richmondbc, CANADA
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gyro in an Airplane

well said

you get what you pay for. I have instructed with a pilot assist and yes it does level the aircraft out of dangerous situations and it takes a bit getting use to it.
if use a buddy box system it is much easier for training.
zain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 07:28 PM
  #10  
LarryC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brookland, AR
Posts: 406
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gyro in an Airplane

I used a Futaba PA-2 at one time for that purpose. It worked great, except for late in the day just before sundown. I had it controlled thro the flap channel so I could adjust the sensitivity. If you have it on a 4 channel radio, there is a manual adjustment.

Larry
LarryC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 02:57 PM
  #11  
balsabuster2003
Senior Member
 
balsabuster2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Washougal, WA
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gyro in an Airplane

The FMA Direct Co-Pilot is not affected by sunlight like the Futaba unit. The Co-Pilot will work at midnight, if you're so inclined. I have one mounted, don't normally use it, except when someone says "What's that?" Then I'll demonstrate what it does.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq46438.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	49.2 KB
ID:	368312  
balsabuster2003 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 02:58 PM
  #12  
balsabuster2003
Senior Member
 
balsabuster2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Washougal, WA
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gyro in an Airplane

(double post)
balsabuster2003 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service