RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

2 Airplanes/Same Rx & Battery-One works, One Glitches like Crazy-Help!!

Reply

Old 11-14-2002, 11:27 AM
  #1  
jbflier
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Concord Twp, OH
Posts: 1,016
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 2 Airplanes/Same Rx & Battery-One works, One Glitches like Crazy-Help!!

I have two airplanes. One is a GP Giles 202 ARF with coreless servos; the other is a GP Easy Sport 40 with std. servos. All equipment is JR. If I put the Rx and battery pack in the Giles, and stand over the plane, it glitches like crazy as I move the TX in various locations. If I move the same Rx and battery into the Easy Sport, I get absolutely no glitching at all. If I move back from the Giles 5-10 feet all goes back to normal. Any suggestions and comments are appreciated . Thanks in advance........
jbflier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2002, 01:30 PM
  #2  
CyberPilot
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 297
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 2 Airplanes/Same Rx & Battery-One works, One Glitches like Crazy-Help!!

You probably already checked but does one plane have more push rod friction (or binding) than the other?

Just a thought....

C.P.
CyberPilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2002, 04:19 PM
  #3  
jbflier
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Concord Twp, OH
Posts: 1,016
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default CyberPilot

Thanks for the thought on this. Both have extremely free movement on all controls. I should also mention there is no metal to metal contact via connectors,and this happens when the engine is off. I simply stand next to, or over each plane. With the same battery pack and Rx in both planes, (obviously at different times), one works fine the other glitches badly..........
jbflier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2002, 05:52 PM
  #4  
snyder_man
My Feedback: (52)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, OH
Posts: 129
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Glitches

I assume that there is some metal for the pusrods to the tail. Where is the antenna? Near the pushrods? This can cause problems with the only solution being to have the antenna outside the plane in a different direction ( ie. not parallel to the pushrods.

snyder_man
snyder_man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2002, 11:58 PM
  #5  
jbflier
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Concord Twp, OH
Posts: 1,016
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 2 Airplanes/Same Rx & Battery-One works, One Glitches like Crazy-Help!!

Snyder_Man; Thanks for your reply. The antenna was inside on both originally. When I had the problem with the Giles, the first thing I did was to move the antenna outside. Still a problem. When I go to do a std, range check, everything is fine. It's only when I'm in close proximity that I have this problem. I'd normally think it's a highly charged battery, but I've never had this problem before..........
jbflier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2002, 12:02 AM
  #6  
Joe B.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Posts: 265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 2 Airplanes/Same Rx & Battery-One works, One Glitches like Crazy-Help!!

Do you have pull-pull wires setup on the giles? If they are not sheilded I've heard people having problems.
Joe B. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2002, 12:28 AM
  #7  
floyd955
Junior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Merlin, OR
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 2 Airplanes/Same Rx & Battery-One works, One Glitches like Crazy-Help!!

If you collapse the antenna on the transmitter does the problem still occur. It sounds like you are swamping the receiver in the Giles. It could also be the sensitivity of the digital servos in the Giles. You might want to have them checked at JR. One last thing, is the battery a 4 cell or a 5 cell pack. If 5 cell it could be the cause. Try a 4 cell and recheck.
floyd955 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service