RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

trying to decide on a radio

Old 11-19-2002, 07:01 PM
david a

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default trying to decide on a radio

Hello to all,
I am a newbie trying to decide on a radio to go with my new Sig Kadet Senior ARF that I just received. I have spoken with some of the "old guards" at the flying club I visited and they are pretty loyal to a certain manufacturer and type of radio. Some tell me to get a regular FM 6 channel instead of a digital or computer model. They say that it is confusing and that it basically flies the plane for you. They prefer to be able to trim the airplane in flight without having to land or take their eyes off the plane. This actually seems like a good idea to me.

As far as the manufactures go they are split between Hitec and JR. The three models that I found are; Hitec Laser 6, Hitec Flash 5 (seems odd for it not to be a 6 channel though), and the JR XF631. The Sig book said they used an Airtronics RD 6000 Sport and that it perfromed nicely for them. I do not have access to any of these units to have a hands-on feel of them. When you read their brochures they each claim superority over the competition.

I realize that it is an individual preference, but I do not have any experience to have a preference. They are all comparably priced at around $200 (a little less for the Laser 6). I am leaning towards the JR model because it is a 6 channel whereas the Hitec is a 5. Is it really a good model and are the servos (537"s) that come with it good?

I am forty years old and I am not an aggressive man any more. I don't liked to be rushed or hurried which is why I decided on a slow flying airplane. Doing a bunch of acrobatics really doesn't flic my bic, just lazy flying, touch & goes and maybe some float flying. Having said that would a computer radio be necessary?