RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Low band vs High band?

Reply

Old 12-02-2002, 09:30 PM
  #1  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Low band vs High band?

I have an RX I got in a deal that is on ch. 48, My other stuff is on Ch. 19... Can I swap crystals from 48 to 19 in my RX or does it have to be either high or low band to work?

Just trying to get all (all but one..) of my planes compatible with my Futaba 6X


Both RX's are obviously the R 127DF ny Futaba...
Thanks in advance!
james
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 09:44 PM
  #2  
trailingedge
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
trailingedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Leland, MS
Posts: 405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Low band vs High band?

I know that something will have to be done but I can't quite remember. Do a search on swapping crystals and I think you'll find the thread. If not, I'm sure Ann Marie would know. If I'm not mistaken I think you have to send it off and have it tuned.
trailingedge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 09:50 PM
  #3  
MikelJay
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lenoir City, TN
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default high band / low band

From what I gather from Futaba, a high band receiver lets you change crystals from channel 36 to 60 without retuning the receiver. A low band receiver lets you change crystals from channel 11 to 36 without retuning the receiver.
If that's true, you'd have to send the receiver back to Futaba to retune it for the lower band.
Best regards,
Mike
MikelJay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2002, 12:48 AM
  #4  
Joe B.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Posts: 265
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Low band vs High band?

Yes, retuning will be necessary to switch 'bands' of the receiver. I've never tried mixing crystals and bands so I can't say what will (if anything) happen. Just so happens I'm looking for a channel 48 receiver If interested in getting rid of it to purchase a low-band receiver, drop me an e-mail with your price.

jbeckman@tampabay.rr.com
Joe B. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2002, 01:29 AM
  #5  
Dyehard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cedar Bluff, VA
Posts: 284
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Low band vs High band?

While Futaba recommends that you stay within the band halfs, a lot of people switch crystals within the whole band without any touble. Try the crystal switch and do a good range check. If it range checs OK on the ground, it should be OK in the air. If if doesn't range check at least as good as it did with the original cryatal, send it in to be tuned.
Dyehard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2002, 02:23 AM
  #6  
N55340
Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: So. Charleston, WV
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Low band vs High band?

I've switched crystals from 44 to 13 without problems with futaba receivers. Futaba doesn't suggest it, but it has worked for me. As suggested earlier, do a good range check and if it is OK, it should work.
N55340 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2002, 02:46 AM
  #7  
Ross Kean
Senior Member
 
Ross Kean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Fredericton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 686
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Low band vs High band?

With the Rx crystal, you may be taking your chances. Futaba suggests retuning - all you have to lose is your plane and possibly a spectator if someone on a nearby channel shoots you down! It would be my best guess that it would be OK - how lucky do you feel?

I wouldn't do it unless I had a good range check and checked for interference from the channel on each side of your frequency.

Ross
Ross Kean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2002, 03:46 AM
  #8  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Thanks!

I LOVE this site...

I am on RCU alot, but since coming back to the hobby (after 7 years away..) it seems like I have a simple question every week!

I used to be a try it and fly it guy... But since I am no longer flying off of dead end roads, and I am a member of a local club >> I will send it in to get tuned.... Can't cost very much and knowing that in the future, if someone in the club goes in, it wasn't because I was too lazy or cheap to get my stuff up to specs.

If it was just me I would range check it and fly it, but I hate it when someone else causes me to crash, so I won't do that to someone else, even if it is a slim chance!

It will cost about $28 bucks.....hmmm...

Thanks for all the great advice,
james
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service