RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

FM vs. PCM trainer compatibility ??

Reply

Old 12-04-2002, 09:04 PM
  #1  
dragracer
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Joplin, MO,
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FM vs. PCM trainer compatibility ??

Thinking about getting one of the Futaba 6 ch. PCM radios for my new plane. My question is, if I go with the PCM model, will I be able to get someone with an FM(non PCM) radio to do the trainer cord thing with me?? Or do both radios have to be PCM radios? Or is it just the reciever that's different and any FM radio will work. Sorry but I just don't understand how this works and it's been over ten years since I even used a trainer cord. Would I be better off just getting the FM non-PCM model? Thanks.........David
dragracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 09:15 PM
  #2  
LQUAN
My Feedback: (17)
 
LQUAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: El Monte, CA
Posts: 337
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FM vs. PCM trainer compatibility ??

Of course you can connect a FM trainner radio to your PCM master radio to do the trainning or vice versa. When the trainner cord is connected and the trainner radio will disable the functionality of the TX module and most of the fancy features on the trainner radio. The only things that are still functional on the trainner radio are the 2 control sticks and the 4 trim slide buttons. As the matter of fact, the radio manual suggests that you remove the TX module on the trainner radio when it is connected to the master radio. You just need to turn on the trainner function on the master radio for the whole setup to know which one is which.
LQUAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 09:18 PM
  #3  
visioneer_one
My Feedback: (506)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Thomas, VIRGIN ISLANDS (USA)
Posts: 2,428
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FM vs. PCM trainer compatibility ??

As long as the trainer systems of the two radios are compatible you'll have no problems.
visioneer_one is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2002, 05:48 PM
  #4  
dragracer
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Joplin, MO,
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Cool!

Thanks guys! Exactly what I needed to know.

So let me make sure i have this straight.....
Whoever I find to help me would fly the plane using my new PCM radio, and I would use his radio as the "trainer" radio? Correct?

I think I'll go for the PCM model. Unless someone can give me a good reason NOT to.
dragracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2002, 08:26 PM
  #5  
olivier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brussels, BELGIUM
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FM vs. PCM trainer compatibility ??

Hi,

Maybe I have some bad news for you : Altough I was convinced that any slave transmitter had to be set in PPM-mode (FM), even for a master transmitter-receiver in PCM, I lately experienced something else, which was confirmed by somebody else with other radios and he gave me a list of possibilities for wich also the slave-transmitter had to be set in PCM-mode if the master transmitter is in PCM.

master PPM ---- slave also PPM
FF7 ----- 9ZHP
FF7 ----- Robbe/Futaba FC18V3
FF7 ----- Robbe/Futaba FC28
Robbe/Futaba FC28 ----- 9ZHP
Robbe/Futaba FC28 ----- FF7
Robbe/Futaba FC28 ----- Robbe/FutabaFC18V3
Robbe/FutabaFC18V3 ----- Robbe/FutabaFC18V3

Perhaps the Futaba FF7 is commercialised in U.S.A under another name

So : I still didn't sort out what and why and which radios. Rather confusing and frustrating.

Olivier
olivier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2002, 09:15 PM
  #6  
LQUAN
My Feedback: (17)
 
LQUAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: El Monte, CA
Posts: 337
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FM vs. PCM trainer compatibility ??

I don't know about the Futaba models sold in Europe, but over on this side of the pond, as long as both radios are made by the same manufacturer, they should be compatible. For example, the radio that I have when I learned to fly is a Futaba 8UAPS (PCM). The other training Futaba radio that was available at our club was a Futaba Conquest II FM (production started and stoped in the 80's). My instructor set up my 8UAPS as a master and set the Conquest as the slave and we never had any problem. The Conquest did not even have on board battery and TX module. The power is supplied by the master.
LQUAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2002, 09:58 PM
  #7  
MikelJay
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lenoir City, TN
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default sorry .... not compatable

I ought to know... I've tried it!

The story....
A fellow comes up to the field with his daughter, wanting someone to teach her how to fly her plane. She has a Futaba T-6XAS with a PCM receiver in the plane. After checking the plane out and taking the plane up by myself to trim it out, we hook up my trainer box........ and nothing works! I tried a different trainer box and cord and got the same results. After I got home, I called Futaba and they told me that both must be set to PPM ( FM ) for the trainer function to work. So..... long story short, her Dad has to buy a new receiver.

Best regards,
Mike
MikelJay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2002, 08:18 AM
  #8  
fiery
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hervey Bay Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,986
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba nomenclature

The 7 and 8 "U" series and the 9 C Futaba Tx's are called in many parts of the world outside of Nth America "Field Force"; ie

FF7; FF8 (and now for the 9C) FF9.

They are essentially the same radio, just rebadged. Hope this clarifies things for those who are puzzled.
fiery is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2002, 02:40 PM
  #9  
visioneer_one
My Feedback: (506)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Thomas, VIRGIN ISLANDS (USA)
Posts: 2,428
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FM vs. PCM trainer compatibility ??

Interesting.

None of the JR gear I've tested has that limitation. Just something else to consider before you purchase your new radio...
visioneer_one is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service