RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Dual Elevator servo setup

Old 07-30-2006, 08:41 AM
Bosch232
My Feedback: (1)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Dual Elevator servo setup

I'm still learning this 9Cap, so bear with me.

I have two servos that run the split elevator on an Extra.
I have not flown this plane yet, but I'm in the final stages of setup.

I have noticed that the left side elevator has more throw than the right side.
But here's the wierd part: It's only different in the "up" throw. They're matched all the way in "full down".

I spent some time looking closely at the linkages, and I don't think it's a mechanical thing.

I have one servo acting as the master over the other servo in a mix.
The master moves up more than the slave servo, but only in the up throw.

Is this the right way to do this? (I'm still learning how to do this)
Old 07-30-2006, 08:59 AM
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Elevator servo setup

There is a default setup for that dual elevator servo setup and it took me some time to get that right as well as some other programming features.

To start with, try looking over this website. It's got more setup info than the manual as well as examples of most of them and proved to be quite valuable to me when learning the 9C;

http://www.futabarc.com/faq/faq-9c.html
Old 07-30-2006, 11:58 AM
Bosch232
My Feedback: (1)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Thanks for that link.

My first attempt at the elevators was to do the ailevator function as shown on this link: http://www.futabarc.com/faq/faq-8u-q586.html

However, I did not know this part: IMPORTANT READ ME: Do you want your elevator servos to also act with your ailerons? If NOT, you must reset the AIL3 and AIL4 numbers to 0.

That' what lead me to try the mix on my own.
Thanks again.

[8D]