RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Changing to Futaba 9C super

Reply

Old 08-03-2006, 01:32 PM
  #1  
tartago
Thread Starter
 
tartago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Changing to Futaba 9C super

Hi:

After 9 years of use it is time to renew my Futaba 8UAF with a new radio system. I am interested in the 9C super. What is your experience with this radio?

Since I have a bunch of Channel #52 receivers I would like to know if these rx are compatible with the 9C.

Help will be appreciated on this.

Regards:

T.
tartago is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 01:37 PM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

Awesome radio, I fly just about everything off of it, helis, 3d planes, warbirds and a glider.

Yes the recievers will work with it. They have had some problems with older recievers and a synth module but the one channel crystal controlled module should be fine.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 01:43 PM
  #3  
tartago
Thread Starter
 
tartago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

Thanks a lot Barracuda!
tartago is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 01:58 PM
  #4  
Campgems
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arroyo Grande, CA
Posts: 4,465
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

I got one for my return to RC after being away over 40 years. Blows my mind what this thing will do.

One complaint though. The timer functions have great applications and flexability, but you can't hear the beeper when it goes off. I can bearly hear it at my desk. My instructors JR has one that I can hear standing behind him on the flight line. Other than the timer volume, it is a great radio.

I went for the synthesizer RF module and matching receiver. I would go with it again for the transmitter, but I'm not sure the receiver is worth it. If I was flying in LA where the fields are crowded, it may be a good thing, but up here on the central coast there are seldom more that 6 to eight guys at the field at any time and there is seldom any frequency conflicts. If you are on a crowded field, the synthesizer module and receiver would be a good thing.

Don
Campgems is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 06:34 PM
  #5  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

The RF module on your existing 8U TX will work on the 9Cs
You will like this radio. Go for it.

ORIGINAL: tartago

Hi:

After 9 years of use it is time to renew my Futaba 8UAF with a new radio system. I am interested in the 9C super. What is your experience with this radio?

Since I have a bunch of Channel #52 receivers I would like to know if these rx are compatible with the 9C.

Help will be appreciated on this.

Regards:

T.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 08:08 AM
  #6  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,091
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super


ORIGINAL: Campgems

I got one for my return to RC after being away over 40 years. Blows my mind what this thing will do.

<snip>

I went for the synthesizer RF module and matching receiver. I would go with it again for the transmitter, but I'm not sure the receiver is worth it.

<snip>

Don
One thing to be aware of and I found out about it the spendy way, non Futaba rx's are not always happy with Futaba synthesized tx modules. Something about the proprietary technology of the module, so if some or any of your rx's are not Futaba they may not play with a synthesized module on the tx... []
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 08:58 AM
  #7  
tartago
Thread Starter
 
tartago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

Well I have 2 Futaba R127 and 5 Hitec rx. I hope they work with the 9C.

But I think there is no other substitute for the 8UAFS than the 9C. From this point you can go down or way up with the price/performance ratio.

I remember I bought the 8U in around 250 bucks and now the 9C is on the 500 range (w/o servos). Inflation exists!!!

But is time for a change. My fellow modeller was flying with his 7 year old Tx and suddenly died crashing his Tsunami.

Thanks for the advice.
tartago is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 09:17 AM
  #8  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

You shouldnt have any problem with the 127 or the hitec rx's. Its mainly the micro stuff like berg's that people are having issues with.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 02:51 PM
  #9  
carlbecker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
carlbecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,071
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

If you are looking at new radios do your self a favor and check out the Multiplex evo. I had a Futaba 8uafs and found a used Profi 4000 which is the top Multiplex. The Evo would have been great for me but it was not out yet. The EVO is a much more flexible radio and better value.

Carl
carlbecker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 02:52 PM
  #10  
carlbecker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
carlbecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,071
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

-
carlbecker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 07:37 PM
  #11  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,091
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

Well I've got a little HiTec 6 channel in a trainer I keep around and it works with the synthesized module. The small JR negative shift as well as the small HiTec 05S (?) micro for foamies won't work. The small GWS rx's worked, but I'm a bit spooked of the listed range on them as I've had my foamies further away than that. Also, it didn't work work on the rx in the Blade CP I just bought, but the standard frequency module does.

As has been noted, your 8 module should fit a new 9C but I'd think about getting a new one just because of your equipment age...

I'm not sure what their International shipping policy is, but Chief will sell you just a tx if you want to go that way and if they'll ship it to you;

http://www.chiefaircraft.com/rcmsec/...abaRadios.html
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 05:54 PM
  #12  
tartago
Thread Starter
 
tartago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

That radios are difficult to get here. We have an EVO but became Bolivia´s president and it isn´t transmitting well. (Evo Morales) LOL
tartago is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 09:15 AM
  #13  
micagreenmachin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mundelein, IL
Posts: 131
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

FWIW...

I got the 9CAPS w/synth TX for Christmas last year (Wife split the cost with me... now THAT'S a good wife!) and it's been awesome.

Works great with all of my receivers so far.

FMA-M5
That small neg-shift JR
Hitec Electron 6
Some old Futaba receivers
Included sythesized RX

Being able to change freqs has been worth every penny.

Todd
micagreenmachin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 07:13 AM
  #14  
davideboracay
Senior Member
 
davideboracay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Luxembourg, LUXEMBOURG
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

Great radio for all use. use it in fm or pcm interchangeable
davideboracay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 04:54 PM
  #15  
tartago
Thread Starter
 
tartago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

Thanks to all for the response. I am going to order one ASAP.

Regards.
tartago is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 08:03 PM
  #16  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

I love mine after 5yrs. This year I went and got the 2500mah nimh bat and a Hansen Hobbies chip to get over 120 model memory and days worth of flying. My kid will be in college before I need a new Tx.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 01:51 PM
  #17  
OldFart1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance , CA
Posts: 790
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super


ORIGINAL: vicman

I love mine after 5yrs. This year I went and got the 2500mah nimh bat and a Hansen Hobbies chip to get over 120 model memory and days worth of flying. My kid will be in college before I need a new Tx.
Whose 2500mAh battery did you get?
OldFart1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 08:33 PM
  #18  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

Got both from Radical RC[sm=thumbup.gif]
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 12:04 PM
  #19  
mpoole
Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Indialantic, FL
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

FYI, a little-known fact is that the 2-way switches on the front can be converted to 3-way, allowing for triple-rates on any switch. I had Radio South convert my "A" switch (upper left) from 2-way to 3-way so that I can have all three rates for all surfaces controlled by that one switch for IMAC flying.


Mark
mpoole is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 01:29 PM
  #20  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

Thats true but it has to be done by a service center with the device to activate the service menu so they can tell the radio that switch a or whichever is 3 position instead of 2.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 04:29 AM
  #21  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

I have the original Futaba 9C, not the super. I have been pretty pleased with it. The super is much improved, especially for gliders.

One problem, and I would be interested to see if anyone else has seen this. Once in a while, perhaps every 10 or 15 times I turn it on, the trims don't work. Sent it into Futaba. They replaced all the switches but it had not effect.

I just check to make sure the trims are working each time I turn on. If they are not, I turn off, then on again and all is fine.

No other problems other than that. I recommend it all that time.
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 07:38 AM
  #22  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

Ed, Mine is the same as yours. Sorry to say I have not experienced the same problem. At some point I need to send mine back for the bezel peeling but it hasn't been that big of a deal for me yet.

To those looking - I am 110% happy and love this radio and did as the title of this thread asks and sold 3 Txs and 9 Rxs made by the company with two letters to get this one. [sm=thumbup.gif][sm=thumbup.gif]
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 06:27 AM
  #23  
ljones5000
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 467
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super


ORIGINAL: tartago


I remember I bought the 8U in around 250 bucks and now the 9C is on the 500 range (w/o servos). Inflation exists!!!

I did some shopping for you...Chief Aircraft, 9CAPS transmitter only, $309. Tower Hobbies, 9CAPS with 2 servos and a 8 channel receiver, $379.

Larry
ljones5000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 10:05 AM
  #24  
tartago
Thread Starter
 
tartago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super


ORIGINAL: ljones5000


ORIGINAL: tartago


I remember I bought the 8U in around 250 bucks and now the 9C is on the 500 range (w/o servos). Inflation exists!!!

I did some shopping for you...Chief Aircraft, 9CAPS transmitter only, $309. Tower Hobbies, 9CAPS with 2 servos and a 8 channel receiver, $379.

Larry
Hi Larry:

The one from Tower is without the synt. pack. and servos.

Thanks anyway.
tartago is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 04:36 PM
  #25  
ljones5000
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 467
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Changing to Futaba 9C super

So was the 8U

I have them both. Good radios.

Larry
ljones5000 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service