RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Digital servos?

Reply

Old 08-20-2006, 07:18 AM
  #1  
Toker41
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Left of Center, NJ
Posts: 323
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Digital servos?

I just ordered the Futaba 9C with s3151 digital servos. I did a ton of research on radios, but NONE on servos. All the "science" behind all the is overwhelming when all I really want to do is fly. I was hoping to use the servos in my glow Cessna, for which I will have to buy one more servo since the package only comes with 4. Although, I just noticed that I might need 2 aileron servos, so these might not work for that. What is the advantage, or disadvantage of digital servos? Will these work for my Cessna? Since I need one more, and the digital are a bit pricey, does it have to be digital?


Tell ya, I don't know what I would do without this site. You guys are great!
Toker41 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 05:27 PM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digital servos?

http://www.futaba-rc.com/servos/digitalservos.html

Theres a link on there to a PDF that discusses them. They will be fine unless your flying an unusually large or small plane. The 3151s are the bottom of the barrel as far as digitals are concerned. In your case if you are putting together a 40 or 60 sized plane use the ones that come with the radio, buy a standard servo and use it for throttle where you will have no advantage with a digital servo.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 05:57 PM
  #3  
Toker41
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Left of Center, NJ
Posts: 323
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digital servos?

So I can mix digital and Analog on the same receiver? I'm thinking these servos might not fit in the wing, and it would be cheaper if I didn't get digital servos for that.
Toker41 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 07:03 PM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digital servos?

Yes you can. The reciever doesn't know or care if its a digital servo, it just sends it a signal to tell it where to go and electrical power to do it with.

3151s are standard sized servos, not sure how big the plane you are talking about is.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 02:30 PM
  #5  
RC_Fanatic
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sutter Creek, CA
Posts: 1,026
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digital servos?

I'm a little confused over the ratings on the 3151. Tower shows torque and speed for both 4.8 and 6.0 volts, but the article you referenced and the manual that came with my 9C Super only shows data for 4.8 volts, which I take to mean these cannot safely run on 6 volts (although why anyone would design a new servo that would not work on 6 volts is beyond me!) So, can the 3151 digitals run on 6 volts, safely?
RC_Fanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 05:09 PM
  #6  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digital servos?

Futaba-rc.com does not show a 6volt rating. In most cases if its regulated voltage and not a 5cell pack you wont have any problems.

I suppose you could post in the futaba support forum and ask Bax
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 09:59 PM
  #7  
RC_Fanatic
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sutter Creek, CA
Posts: 1,026
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digital servos?

Posted in the Futaba forum as suggested.
RC_Fanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 09:42 AM
  #8  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Digital servos?

Looks like Krysta said the futaba site was wrong.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service