RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Variable Flap Positions

Reply

Old 08-22-2006, 06:28 PM
  #1  
flianbrian
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
flianbrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Suthrun, IL
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Variable Flap Positions

I've been looking at computer Tx ads ( I don't have a comp Tx yet) to see if any can do variable flap positions, such as 15 degrees, 30 degrees, 45 degrees. The few I've looked at don't mention it. So do any have that capability?

Thanks!

flian'
flianbrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2006, 11:32 AM
  #2  
flianbrian
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
flianbrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Suthrun, IL
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Variable Flap Positions

Bump!! Surely SOMEONE can answer this. I have older radios at the moment and the flap switch on my 6-ch radio is only flaps or no flaps. Are newer radios capable of varying the flap angle in flight? Thanks!
flianbrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2006, 02:16 PM
  #3  
jbdismukes
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL AL
Posts: 285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Variable Flap Positions

Most of the computerized TX's have a twist knob variable switch which can be set up as the flap control. The percentage settings would probably be determined through trial-and-error.
jbdismukes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2006, 02:23 PM
  #4  
TLH101
My Feedback: (90)
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Variable Flap Positions

The better upper end radios have slider switches on the sides that work well for flaps, and most have 3 position switches that can be used for flaps. My Stylus even has a slow feature that lets the flaps deploy at any speed I desire. Beleive the new Futaba and JR 9 channel transmitters have this feature.
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2006, 02:28 PM
  #5  
flianbrian
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
flianbrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Suthrun, IL
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Variable Flap Positions

Very good!
Thanks a bunch.
flianbrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 10:41 AM
  #6  
Bill Teller
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Buffalo Junction, VA
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Variable Flap Positions

My Hitec Optic 6 has a switch (4) that will mix elevator trim (landing function) with the flaps in channnel 6 port & a continiously variable control that will change the amount of flaps deployed. The amount of trim
dosn't change & there are no clicks on the varible dohicky. if I learn more I will send it along
Bill Teller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 02:22 PM
  #7  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,379
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Variable Flap Positions

The Futaba 9c has both side mounted sliders, and a 3 position switch. Also a dizzying array of mixing, the most useful is elevator compensation while the flaps are deployed.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service