RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

mode 1 to mode 2 conversion

Reply

Old 08-25-2006, 04:26 AM
  #1  
rhk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: mumbai, INDIA
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default mode 1 to mode 2 conversion

Hi,
I recently bought a walkera 35 helicopter with a mode 1 tx. Any suggestions on how to convert it to mode 2 ?
Thanks.
rhk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2006, 07:23 PM
  #2  
AERORICH73
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Scappoose, OR
Posts: 469
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: mode 1 to mode 2 conversion

Oh, I just went through this same problem with a Hitec Laser 4 transmitter. In my case, I just
contacted the manufacturer service center for information. They quoted me a $10.--fee plus
postage to make the change. The transmitter has returned ready for use. The name of your
transmitter is not known to me, but there should be some information on it to give you some idea who to contact. Trying to rewire the change yourself maybe not a good idea.

Rich S.
AERORICH73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2006, 11:35 PM
  #3  
H_L
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: QLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 59
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: mode 1 to mode 2 conversion

On some remotes you change a ratchet and a spring then program the tx and rx OR some can even swap the whole joystick over with the other side but I’m not sure on your remote.

I maybe able to find out on Friday
H_L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 05:12 AM
  #4  
rhk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: mumbai, INDIA
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: mode 1 to mode 2 conversion

Thanks for your inputs,
Managed to convert the set to mode 2 operation. Wasn't all that difficult. I removed the TX back plate and unscrewed the screws behind the gimbals. The spring mechanism cum lever was removed from the left stick and transplanted to the right ( which required a bit of maneuvering) and the same was done with the rachet plate. The corresponding potentiometers had 3 pins plugs and I thougt that I could get away by swapping them left to right and vise-versa. This did not work. The wiring had to be reversed in each plug. ie the black wire remains in the center, and the position of the red and white had to be changed. No solderig was required. ( the pins can be easily removed from the plugs by elevating the tiny plastic retaining mechanism and tugging on the wire). No changes had to be made at the receiver end
Swapping the gimbals does not work as being a mirror image of each other the trim lever slots and space for the pots do not match.

The TX is a non branded one which is supplied with the helicopter.
rhk is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service