RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

When do I need to use a voltage regulator?

Reply

Old 08-29-2006, 02:12 PM
  #1  
Flyboy1958
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 655
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default When do I need to use a voltage regulator?

When do I need to use a voltage regulator? I just bought a 6v 1650mAh NiMH battery and got to thinking or wondering if and when I would need a regulator. Is it just for digital servos or what?
Flyboy1958 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 03:44 PM
  #2  
GalenB
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 2,140
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: When do I need to use a voltage regulator?

You most likely will not need a regulator for any 6 volt pack. I only use 5 cell NiMH packs and have never used a regulator on any of them. I don't know anyone using regulators on anything other than 2 cell LiIon packs...
GalenB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 06:27 PM
  #3  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: When do I need to use a voltage regulator?

Just look up the listings for the servos you are using to confirm that they are OK at 6V, most servo are good for 6V.
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 09:30 PM
  #4  
Panzlflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (15)
 
Panzlflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 1,960
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: When do I need to use a voltage regulator?

Most servos!!!
I recommended 6V to a friend and messed up 2 of his older JR servos...so check first
Panzlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 01:24 AM
  #5  
RevGQ
Senior Member
 
RevGQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 493
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: When do I need to use a voltage regulator?

I had installed the Futaba Gy401 Gyro and S9254 servo on a newly built heli. The battery I built for it was a five-cell 6.0 v and I had only been flying the heli for a second week when the rudder servo stopped working in flight. Just prior to turning off power to the heli, the servo began smoking violently. I found out that the S9254 does not handle 6.0v, but the gyro does. Expensive lesson. I now use the regulator with all planes and helis when utilizing 6.0v packs.
RevGQ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 07:00 AM
  #6  
exeter_acres
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: When do I need to use a voltage regulator?

???...then why not just save the weight and run a 4 cell pack with no reg??


I use 5 cell packs in all my glow planes with no reg.. but as mentioned, double check the servo specs...

I use LiIon with a reg in my gas plane
exeter_acres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 11:04 AM
  #7  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: When do I need to use a voltage regulator?

Take a look at the last page of the new ZDZ80 thread in gas engines.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service