RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Replacing antenna on hitec reciever, please help

Reply

Old 08-31-2006, 11:19 AM
  #1  
rc2007
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: , NV
Posts: 197
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Replacing antenna on hitec reciever, please help

I have a rcd3200 Hitec dual conversion rec, it only has about 5" of antenna left on it. What length and what type of wire do I need to solder on to make it correct?
rc2007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 11:24 AM
  #2  
Tech-RCU
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Winfield, KS,
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Replacing antenna on hitec reciever, please help

We would highly recommend that you purchase an OEM replacement antenna. They are offered here http://www.servocity.com/html/receiver_antennas.html

Tech
ServoCity.com
Tech-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 12:05 PM
  #3  
Dr1Driver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 3,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Replacing antenna on hitec reciever, please help

I highly recommend you get a 1m piece of stranded 22 gauge wire and solder it on the PC board where the other piece was. IF you're good at soldering, that is. If not, follow recommendation 1.

Dr.1
Dr1Driver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 02:44 PM
  #4  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Replacing antenna on hitec reciever, please help

Any decent stranded wire 39 to 41 inches long will work well. Stranded so that it is more imune to breaking when flexed as often happens on rc receivers. Gage is not important but a 22 to 28 gage size will be more flexable than 20 gage or larger would be. You could even just solder an extension to the stub that remains on your present system to bring the total length to 39 to 41 inches with no problems, does't even have to be the same gage wire.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 10:26 PM
  #5  
rc2007
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: , NV
Posts: 197
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Replacing antenna on hitec reciever, please help

How do we know if 39" or 41" is best?
rc2007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 08:42 AM
  #6  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Replacing antenna on hitec reciever, please help

rc2007, you won't be able to detect any difference between the 39 and 41 inches. That is just the range that most receivers have had their internal components adjusted to (inductance and capacitive setting on the input tuning circuitry) when manufactured. Nearly all recievers are set up to use a 1 meter long (39 inches) antenna--probably an economic decision by the manufacturer.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service