RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Radio TX / RX Servo compatibility

Reply

Old 09-02-2006, 11:56 PM
  #1  
eicasrc
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: , FL
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio TX / RX Servo compatibility

Hi to all,

I am looking into buying a new radio (9CAPS) wether the regular frequency PCM or the Synthesized one.
My question is:
Can I use my old servos even if they are not digital, are they compatible with this newer system?
My servos are the SP-F148 and do have J conectors.

If I could I can just buy thr TX and RX and be able to get a better radio for now with room to expand in the near future. I am now flying my old trainer that can do well with this servos.

Your help with this question will be appreciated.

H.M
eicasrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 12:06 AM
  #2  
eicasrc
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: , FL
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Radio TX / RX Servo compatibility

I forgot another detail.
Can someone clarify what the Mode 1 and Mode 2 means with radio packages? I have seen this at Tower with Futabas and also JR.

Thanks
eicasrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 07:16 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Radio TX / RX Servo compatibility

Yes the old servos will work fine.

You want mode 2, thats what 99 percent of the people in the US fly. It has to do with what stick axis does what function, mode two is aileron/elevator on the right stick and throttle / rudder on the right. Mode 1 I think moves the aileron to the left side and the rudder to the right but it will be a LOT easier to find help flying mode 2, I belong to 2 big clubs (almost 200 members each) and 1 person at each club that I know of flys mode 1
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 12:16 PM
  #4  
eicasrc
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: , FL
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Radio TX / RX Servo compatibility

Thanks barracudahockey, valuable information, almost made the mistake.

H.M

eicasrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 02:05 PM
  #5  
simitar1
Member
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fairfield Glade, TN
Posts: 80
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Radio TX / RX Servo compatibility

I acquired a GP CUB-60 a few weeks ago, it had a Tower System 3000 radio and 5 servos. 1 Futaba S3003, 1 Futaba FP-S148, 1 Hobbico Command CS-51, 2 Tower System 2000 TS-51. I charged the depleted battteries overnight and turned things on, IT WENT NUTS. I had seen this before when I tried to use a FP-S148 as the throttle servo with 4 S3003 servos, I had to buy another S3003. In this case I took out the S148 and the system still had the gitters. I next removed the S3003 and still the problem, next the CS-51 and the remaining 2 TS-51 were Okay.

I went ahead, because I had the time and interest, and checked the S3003 with my plane which had all S3003 servos, it was fine. I had some Command CS-51s in a bag on the wall so I tried the CS-51 with a set of CS-51s on the System 3000 receiver- Worked fine. I found 3, FP-S148s on a servo tray from an older plane, I attached all of them, plus the one from the CUB to the System 3000 and again all was fine.

In each case if I put any one of the other Servos in the mix, the whole system got the gitters. I thought that sometime ago the manufacturers decicde to make things compatible but perhaps it is a generation gap thing. Maybe all Servos from one era are compatible but as technology has advanced, differences have by necessity appeared.

It someone with knowledge of this could provide information I would appreciate it greatly. I resolved the CUB's problem by replacing all the servos with a set of old JR NES-517 servos, they all worked just fine with the System 300 receiver.
simitar1 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service