RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

changing an AM crystal in a dual conversion

Reply

Old 01-23-2007, 01:39 AM
  #1  
suzonka
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
suzonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: calverton Long Island, NY
Posts: 883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default changing an AM crystal in a dual conversion

can I swap another crystal number in my AM dual conversion receiver its now 48 and I wanted to use channel 24 from a hitech AM single conversion receiver crystal or is there no such thing as a single and dual crystal
suzonka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 08:51 AM
  #2  
pettit
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: changing an AM crystal in a dual conversion

Use a crystal made for your dual conversion receiver. A single conversion crystal will probably not work.
pettit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 10:33 AM
  #3  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: changing an AM crystal in a dual conversion

No, a single conversion crystal is usually 455KH different from the channel frequecy while a dual conversion crystal is about 11.7MH different.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 12:23 PM
  #4  
suzonka
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
suzonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: calverton Long Island, NY
Posts: 883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: changing an AM crystal in a dual conversion


ORIGINAL: pettit

Use a crystal made for your dual conversion receiver. A single conversion crystal will probably not work.
Thanks for the information
suzonka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 09:19 PM
  #5  
KB9STD
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 310
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: changing an AM crystal in a dual conversion

There is probably no difference between AM and FM crystals,if both are dual conversion.If the receiver is "Dal Conversion",it definately needs a "Dual Conversion'crystal though.
KB9STD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 03:04 AM
  #6  
suzonka
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
suzonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: calverton Long Island, NY
Posts: 883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: changing an AM crystal in a dual conversion


ORIGINAL: KB9STD

There is probably no difference between AM and FM crystals,if both are dual conversion.If the receiver is "Dal Conversion",it definately needs a "Dual Conversion'crystal though.


Thanks for the information
suzonka is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service