RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Dumb Receiver Question?

Reply

Old 01-26-2007, 08:27 PM
  #1  
dasintex
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
dasintex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
Posts: 2,598
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Dumb Receiver Question?

To date I have only been using 6 channel receivers, which have the terminal for Battery plus 6 others for Channels 1 through 6; I want to use a small 4 Channel, full range Receiver on a glow powered combat plane; the one in mind is the Hitec 4MG, which has 4 channels 1 through 4 and no battery terminal; however I will only need 3 channels: Aileron#1, Elevator#2 and Throttle#3; do I just plug the battery into the unused #4 Channel; pretty dumb question, eh?
dasintex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 08:51 PM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dumb Receiver Question?

The only "dumb" question is one you are afraid to ask.

Yes you can plug the battery into any unused terminal or if you needed 4 servos you could connect it to a servo with a Y harness then into the reciever, all the positive and negative terminals are common in a receiver its the signal wire that goes off on its own for each channel.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 10:37 PM
  #3  
dasintex
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
dasintex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
Posts: 2,598
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dumb Receiver Question?

Thanks a bunch; I kinda figured that was the case just wanted to be sure; I have some small electric planes that use 4 channel Receivers and there isn't a terminal designated for the battery, it gets tied in through the ESC and Channel 3 Throttle
dasintex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 08:13 AM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dumb Receiver Question?

Exactly! With an ESC the power comes IN on the pos and neg wires and the signal goes out on the signal (usually white) wire.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service