Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

AM TX & Rx

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2003, 04:07 AM
firefighter56

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AM TX & Rx

I'm new to the hobby and I saw a post concerning AM radio's. My question is are all AM band radio illegal to use? I see some for sale on ebay was thinking of bidding on some.

Also do G type connector work on J type receivers?
Old 02-06-2003, 04:34 AM
strato911

Default AM TX & Rx

Some AM systems are still legal, as long as they are "gold-stickered". The late model units were manufactured to the gold-sticker standard (narrow band), and some people had their older radios converted. If you have an older system, there should be a sticker on the back certifying it as a narrow band radio like this one (it is gold colored). Wide band transmitters are illegal.

As for your other question - As far as I know, servos with G-style connectors don't work with receivers using J-style connectors.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	53088_14637.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	59.2 KB
ID:	33027  
Old 02-06-2003, 02:40 PM
Tippie

Default AM TX & Rx

Hitec still makes/sells an AM unit on 72mhz in the Focus 3. I have one that I bought about 2 years ago on channel 25 and just checked their web site which still shows them in production.
Old 02-06-2003, 07:47 PM
TERBObob
My Feedback: (21)

Default AM TX & Rx

Yes ... you can still use AM ..... and not knowing if oyu are wanting this for planes or cars or boats ( yes ... there is a difference - 72 mhz for planes and 75/29 for cars and boats )
And yes ... they still sell them BRAND NEW ... here is one example on EBAY ( and no ... this is not my auction ... just one I found fast to show here ) :
EBAY auction for FUTABA AM radio gear