RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Standard Futaba Horn On A Hitec HS-81

Reply

Old 02-13-2007, 11:31 PM
  #1  
efish
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Singapore, SINGAPORE
Posts: 488
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Standard Futaba Horn On A Hitec HS-81

Hi, was wondering if anyone else has tried this and whether its safe?

The Futaba horn seems to fit fine on the HS-81 - pretty snug with no play. However, I can't get the hitec horn to fit on a futaba servo - could be that the futaba spline is marginally bigger than the hitec?

Thanks.
efish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 12:01 AM
  #2  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard Futaba Horn On A Hitec HS-81

The horns are not interchangeble... The spline count and possibly the shaft diameter are different...
mglavin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 08:37 AM
  #3  
BillS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,312
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard Futaba Horn On A Hitec HS-81


ORIGINAL: efish

Hi, was wondering if anyone else has tried this and whether its safe?

The Futaba horn seems to fit fine on the HS-81 - pretty snug with no play. However, I can't get the hitec horn to fit on a futaba servo - could be that the futaba spline is marginally bigger than the hitec?

Thanks.
Don’t do that. The horn will slip. The size is different. Hitec is smaller than Futaba. Crash.

Bill
BillS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 10:19 AM
  #4  
LesUyeda
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,670
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard Futaba Horn On A Hitec HS-81

Bigger/smaller is not the issue. Hitec has 24 splines, Futaba has 25.

Les
LesUyeda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 11:50 AM
  #5  
TLH101
My Feedback: (90)
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard Futaba Horn On A Hitec HS-81

You know the mfgs finally got the wiring standardized, why don't they make the splines standardized. Sure would make it great for the aftermarket as well.
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 05:02 PM
  #6  
fiery
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hervey Bay Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,986
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard Futaba Horn On A Hitec HS-81

Airtronics/Sanwa servo arms/wheels will fit JR and vice-versa. Plug'n'play.

They use the same output shaft dimensions /spline pattern on their standard servo's
fiery is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 10:22 AM
  #7  
LesUyeda
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,670
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard Futaba Horn On A Hitec HS-81

When Hitec first came out, my conversations with them indicated that it was an oversight on their part, but they were already committed.

Les
LesUyeda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 11:02 AM
  #8  
davewallace
Senior Member
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,402
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard Futaba Horn On A Hitec HS-81

TLH101,
We are in hog heaven now. When I got my first F&M proportional in1966, nothing was interchangable, not even within the same brand. Servos had five wires and most output shafts were square. Some systems were analog and some digital. They were all heavy and expensive. I got mine direct from F&M and it cost me $550. It took over a month to get it. The analog units couldn't find the same nuetral position twice in a row. None had servo reversing, but it was much better then my reed system which used two channels for everthing and even required an extra servo for elevator trim. The manufactures had much less to work with back then, since the IC(interated circuit) wasn't invented until 1969. Everything was made from individual parts. I know that they could do better, they want to make money by selling you more stuff. Thats why a Campac 16K TX memory module cost $80, even though you can buy a 2 gigybyte SD flash card for the same price. The worst case that I can think of is that a $2,000 plus Futaba 14MZ only has high resolution on the primary channels.

Dave
davewallace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 03:39 PM
  #9  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard Futaba Horn On A Hitec HS-81

Hitec, Appolo &Hobbico use the same size arms. Futaba, DAD, GWS, FMA & Tower Hobbies use the same arms. Actually, the odd number of splines are better in that you have a much greater range of fine tuning the mechanical positions by using different quadrants of the servo arms.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 10:14 PM
  #10  
efish
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Singapore, SINGAPORE
Posts: 488
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard Futaba Horn On A Hitec HS-81

Thanks everyone. Knew I'd get a definitive answer here!

Since the servos are mounted on the fuselage and its a 3D type plane, I ended up buying a pair of "Hitec-specifc" anodised aluminium arms. Not sure if they work better but they do look cool!

Thanks again.
efish is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service