RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

High Band Rx, Low band Tx..

Reply

Old 02-08-2003, 11:53 PM
  #1  
rplumbo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default High Band Rx, Low band Tx..

Ok, I've got 2 High band Rxs that I can't use because I've got a low band Tx. Let's say I just popped the respective crystal in these high band Rxs, what would happen? I've heard it will still work, but there are some side effects. Loss of range? Erraticism?

Secondly,
What does Futaba actually do to retune a Rx. I know they can retune these for me for $20 a piece. So what do they actually do? I know a few electrical engineers who, with a schematic, could go to town!

These are my "knockaround" Rxs, can you tell? I got a great deal on them and $20 retuning would blow my margin. I'll probably end up selling them, but I wanted to see what the options were.

Thanks!
Reid
rplumbo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 12:54 AM
  #2  
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,037
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default High Band Rx, Low band Tx..

Yep, I think loss of range or other function could result. Somehow HiTec has gotten away from the need for high/low band.

Ernie
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 01:27 AM
  #3  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default High Band Rx, Low band Tx..

It's pretty stupid what they do. It's only a few variable capacitors that need to be trimmed on an osciliscope for proper tuneing.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 05:46 AM
  #4  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default High Band Rx, Low band Tx..

Originally posted by Ernie Misner
Yep, I think loss of range or other function could result. Somehow HiTec has gotten away from the need for high/low band.
From what I have read, Hitec gets around it by center tuning the Rx to the entire spectrum, while Futaba center tunes for upper and lower halves of the spectrum. How far into the low band is your Tx? If it close to the switchover between high and low band, you might get away with it. Just make sure you do a thorough range check with the engine off, and with engine running. The worst that can happen, is total loss of reception, possibly resulting in damage to someone's property, or person.

Now that you know the risks, the decision is up to you. Do you take what precautions you can, or are you willing to risk killing someone (it has happened) due to loss of control? :stupid:
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service