RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Question about my battery pack:

Reply

Old 02-09-2003, 03:14 AM
  #1  
JohnRC-RCU
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Uniontown, OH
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Question about my battery pack:

I have an old AM 4-ch Futaba radio, and it hasn't been used for years. The battery clips were corroded, and I didn't want to pay $30 for a new one, so I ordered some cells to solder together. The original battery pack was 9.6V 500ma. I couldn't find any 500ma batteries, so I got 600ma.

Will the extra 100ma break anything? I got enough cells to replace my reciever batteries also, and they are the same ma, 500.

Thanks in advance.
JohnRC-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 03:34 AM
  #2  
LarryC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brookland, AR
Posts: 406
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Question about my battery pack:

JohnRC,

The extra battery capacity won't do any harm,. It will only make the transmitter run longer before it has to be charged.
A bigger question is whether the transmitter meets the current bandwidth and stability standards for rc use.
You can probably use the Futaba support forum to find out. Give them the model and serial number with your question.

Good Luck with it.
Larry
LarryC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 03:44 AM
  #3  
JohnRC-RCU
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Uniontown, OH
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Question about my battery pack:

Thanks Larry, I feel better already
JohnRC-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 05:33 AM
  #4  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Question about my battery pack:

To find out if your transmitter is legal to be used in today's "narrow band" frequencies, you can check Futaba's discontinued products FAQ here:
http://www.futabarc.com/faq/service-faq.html#q41

By the way, I still use my old Futaba AM radio for one of my planes. Yes, it's narrow band.
Why fix what isn't broken...
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 06:26 AM
  #5  
JohnRC-RCU
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Uniontown, OH
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Question about my battery pack:

Yeah it's narrow...The Futaba Attack-4 I do have an old Conquest 4NL that's not narrow...yet! I read that AM goes just as far as PCM or PPM, and I never have interference problems out here, so this will work. Someday i'll get a 6XAS or RD6000, but summer is too close, and I need to finish my Stingray 40 before the snow melts.

Great information, thanks again.
JohnRC-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 06:38 AM
  #6  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Question about my battery pack:

Mine is also an Attack-4. FYI - AM uses a form of PPM as well, just like basic FM systems.

Here's a good site which explains alot about how aour RC systems work: http://www.torreypinesgulls.org/Radios.htm
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service