RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Yet another Spektrum question....

Reply

Old 02-23-2007, 02:25 PM
  #1  
ArmedZagi
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
ArmedZagi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Yet another Spektrum question....

I was wondering .. what exactly keeps Spektrum radios from getting hit by interference from other devices that operate at 2.4Ghz? I can think of several right right next to me.. My wireless phone, Baby monitors, and my Wireless router. Do these systems interfere with each other? Yup. What keeps these and similar sytems from hitting the Spektrum? Anyway, just curious. Thanks.
ArmedZagi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 02:30 PM
  #2  
Zephirus79
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: , GA
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Yet another Spektrum question....

The spektrum works kinda like a wireless computer network. You could have 50 access points but you only connect to one. That is why you "program" your spektrum to only use your transmitter. It will ignore all other signals even if it is on 2.4GHz cause it doesn't have the GUID identifier that your transmitter has.
"
Zephirus79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 02:34 PM
  #3  
ArmedZagi
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
ArmedZagi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Yet another Spektrum question....

Oh ok that makes sense... All this here new technology is confusing [&:] Thanks for the quick response.
ArmedZagi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 04:44 PM
  #4  
alan0899
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warialda NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Yet another Spektrum question....

G'day Mate,
And the DX7 uses 2 available channels, plus to GUID code, your cordless phone & other low powered 2.4Ghz equipment, only uses 1.
So if your cordless phone was on 1 channel, nearby, the DX7 will not use that one, because it is not available.
alan0899 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 07:01 PM
  #5  
JustABigKid
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 293
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Yet another Spektrum question....

ORIGINAL: Zephirus79

The spektrum works kinda like a wireless computer network. You could have 50 access points but you only connect to one. That is why you "program" your spektrum to only use your transmitter. It will ignore all other signals even if it is on 2.4GHz cause it doesn't have the GUID identifier that your transmitter has.
"
The difference here is that, if other devices transmit on your channels, the signals can be corrupted so that the GUID identifier cannot be received properly. Your receiver will then just reject the frame of data sent from your transmitter, and the failsafe will kick in (freezing your servos) until uncorrupted frames can be received again. The proof of this technology will be in how often this happens...
JustABigKid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 07:35 PM
  #6  
chrisF test pilot
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Yet another Spektrum question....


ORIGINAL: KenCClark

ORIGINAL: Zephirus79

The spektrum works kinda like a wireless computer network. You could have 50 access points but you only connect to one. That is why you "program" your spektrum to only use your transmitter. It will ignore all other signals even if it is on 2.4GHz cause it doesn't have the GUID identifier that your transmitter has.
"
The difference here is that, if other devices transmit on your channels, the signals can be corrupted so that the GUID identifier cannot be received properly. Your receiver will then just reject the frame of data sent from your transmitter, and the failsafe will kick in (freezing your servos) until uncorrupted frames can be received again. The proof of this technology will be in how often this happens...
That isnt completely correct. You dont get corruption per se with SS communication. The only time there would be an issue, regardless of how many devices were using the same frequency, is if the noise floor were high enough around that frequency so that the Rx could not see the signal. In terms of SS that would be LOS, not corruption. And it may not avoid a frequency that some other device is using, only another Spektrum device or a channel that was too noisy. Just because another device is on a frequency doesnt make it unusable.
chrisF test pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service