RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba PCM/4 S3001 Servos strong enough?

Reply

Old 02-11-2003, 04:07 AM
  #1  
gwa
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sulphur Springs, TX
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba PCM/4 S3001 Servos strong enough?

I about to purchase a Futaba 9CAP and I was wondering if the supplied servos (PCM/4 S3001 Servos) have enough torque for a 1/5 th scale Sopwith Pup with .90 engine?

I would appreciate any comments.

Thanks,
Gary
gwa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 04:45 AM
  #2  
p39
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New Ulm, MN
Posts: 386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba PCM/4 S3001 Servos strong enough?

IMO-- yes. Be sure the control rods are tight... You'll love the 9C-- much easier to program than my 9Z.....
Rick
p39 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 04:05 PM
  #3  
bill white
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Posts: 222
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba PCM/4 S3001 Servos strong enough?

You will have 44oz. of torque w/these servos. If you want to boost that, you can use a 6V battery, and boost the torque to 57oz. But I don't think you will need to w/that type of set-up.

Bill
bill white is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 04:02 AM
  #4  
gwa
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sulphur Springs, TX
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba PCM/4 S3001 Servos strong enough?

Thanks for your replies. I will give the standard servos a try.

Gary
gwa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 05:00 AM
  #5  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Should be fine..

I have 3001's in a DF F-15 and they seem okay-

Love those Pups!
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service